Besancon’s last-second 3-pointer put Lady Smithies in state tourney

Published 1:51 am Thursday, March 13, 2014

Jim Walker


Smithville is back in the girls Division III state tournament for the third time in five years and fourth since 2004.


Smithville needed a miracle-like finish to beat Beachwood 38-36 in last Saturday’s regional final. The Smithies now join Fairland, Versailles and Columbus Africentric in the Final Four this weekend at the Schottenstein Center on the campus of Ohio State University.

Smithville trailed 36-33 with less than 10 seconds when they got a putback to trail by one. They fouled Beachwood immediately and the Lady Bison missed the front end of a one-and-one with Smithville getting the rebound.

The Smithies’ Olivia Besancon hit the game-winning with a running 3-pointer from the right wing just before time ran out.

The 5-foot-7 Besancon — who was named second team All-Ohio — leads the Smithies with a 15.3 scoring average. She has 4.3 rebounds a game, 2.6 assists, shoots 81 percent from the foul line and was 40-of-105 from the 3-point line for 41 percent.

In the post is 5-11 Natalie Indermuhle with 12.4 points and 9.1 rebounds per game. The All-Ohio honorable mention selection shoots 60 percent from the floor.

Point guard Adriana Fike is a four-year starter who averaged 3.9 assists per game. She was injured the first half of the season and the Smithies’ offense dramatically improved upon her return.

The forwards are Macy McKelley and Kylie Snell.

The 5-11 McKelley averages 11.5 points a game and was 28-of-82 from the 3-point arc. She played 24 minutes in the 2012 Final Four loss to Africentric.

Snell was the team’s sixth man, but an injury to starter Rachel Gerber elevated her position and gives Smithville five seniors in the starting lineup.

Smithville head coach Mike Miller is in his 18th season.


Smithville Lady Smithies

2013-14 Basketball Roster

Player Pos. Ht. Gr.

Adriana Fike PG 5-06 Sr.

Olivia Besancon G 5-07 Sr.

Natalie Indermuhle C 5-11 Sr.

Macy McKelley F 5-11 Sr.

Kylie Snell F 5-10 Sr.

Rachel Gerber PG 5-06 Jr.

Leia Miller G 5-06 Jr.

Emily Horst G 5-07 So.

Lauren Erickson G 5-07 So.

Zoe Bates F 5-10 So.

Head coach: Mike Miller