Hornets stay unbeaten

Published 12:51 am Sunday, April 13, 2014

Jim Walker



PEDRO — So far this season, the Coal Grove Hornets have taken small steps. Friday they took one giant leap.

The Hornets remained unbeaten in the Ohio Valley Conference as they beat three-time defending champion Rock Hill 10-6.

Coal Grove (5-0, 3-0) got 10 hits and used the combined pitching of Daniel Rutherford, Conor Markins and Jesse Rigsby to beat the Redmen (5-1, 1-1).

Rutherford went 2-4 with a home run and Rigsby 2-4 with a double to lead the 10-hit attack.

Jonah Cox was 3-5 to pace Rock Hill who was guilty of four errors. Of the 10 runs allowed, only five were earned.

Markins notched the win while Jordan Hairston took the loss.

“Jordan didn’t throw poorly, he just got some balls up and we didn’t field very well,” said Rock Hill coach Barry Litteral.

“The kids played hard and fought back, but now they realize they have their hands full.”

The Redmen took a 1-0 lead in the first inning when Aaron Dalton and Cox singled.

But Coal Grove erupted for seven runs in the third inning.

With one out, Sean Paulus walked, Jacob Clark was safe on a fielder’s choice, and D.J. Miller walked. Mason Nance was safe on an error to score a run, Rigsby doubled in two, Markins had two-run single and Rutherford had an RBI single.

Paulus singled in a run to end the uprising.

The Redmen got a run back in the third when Jack Goodwin reached on a two-base error and came home when Corey Noel was safe on an error.

Each team got a run in the fourth.

Nance singled, stole second and scored on a hit by Rigsby.

In the bottom of the inning, Dalton walked, stole second and scored on a hit by Cox.

The Hornets got a run in the sixth when Markins reached on an error and Rutherford hit a home run.

Rock Hill scored three runs in the bottom of the frame.

Drew McClaskey and Cox singled, Goodwin walked and Jonathon Joseph singled home a pair of runs. Hairston hit a sacrifice fly to cap the scoring.

Coal Grove 007 102 0 = 10 10 3

Rock Hill 101 103 0 = 6 8 4

Daniel Rutherford, Conor Markins (3), Jesse Rigsby (7) and Jesse Rigsby, Jacob Clark (7). Jordan Hairston, Levi Wilds (4) and Jonah Cox. W-Markins (K-5, BB-4). L-Hairston (IP-3, K-4, BB-1, H-8, R-8, ER-4). Wilds K-3, BB-3. H-2, R-2, ER-1. Hitting-CG: D.J. Miller 1-3, Mason Nance 1-5, Jesse Rigsby 2-4, Conor Markins 1-3, Daniel Rutherford 2-4, Travis Carey 1-3, Sean Paulus 1-2; RH: Aaron Dalton 1-3, Jonah Cox 3-5, Jonathon Joseph 1-4, Corey Noel 1-3, Chance Blankenship 1-3, Drew McClaskey 1-3. 2B-CG: Jesse Rigsby. HR-CG: Daniel Rutherford.