OUS recognizes students at ceremony

Published 10:28 am Friday, May 2, 2014

The Ohio University Southern Student Recognition Ceremony took place this past Friday in the Riffe Center Mains Rotunda at the college’s Ironton campus.

Interim dean Dr. Dan Evans and associate dean Ella Jones made opening remarks before multiple students were recognized for academic accomplishments and involvement with on-campus clubs.

Outstanding associate degree graduates recognized were Cally R. Ross, associate of arts; Kimberly S. Harris, associate of science; Jennifer M. Boggess, associate of applied business, accounting; Timothy L. Smith, associate of applied business, business management technology; and Laura L. Meadows; associate of applied business, office management technology; William Z. Hampton and Mackenzie B. Luster, associate of applied science, associate degree nursing.

Email newsletter signup

Members of the OUS Eco Club recognized were Sarah Simmons, president; and Adam Stephenson, vice president/treasurer.

The OUS equestrian team members recognized were: Taley Arms, Intercollegiate Horse Show Association (IHSA) Western Team graduate; Rachel Bell, IHSA Western Team; Emily Pancake, IHSA Western Team; Jessamyn Rice, IHSA Western Team graduate; Athena Sand, IHSA Western Team graduate; and Megan Vickers, IHSA Western Team.

History club members recognized included Jennifer Boggess, graduate; Victoria Clay, graduate; Michelle Dotts, president and graduate; Schuyler Moore, graduate; and Corey Zornes, graduate.

Literature club members Brittany Bryant, graduate; Jessica Conley, president; and Michelle Dotts, graduate, were also recognized.

OUS art instructor Tom Suter recognized international and national art and photo award winners. The Viewbug’s Misplaced Photo Contest sponsored by Phase One was Ben Dean for Prom Night II, grand jury winner; Photographer’s Forum Magazine Juried Competition sponsored by Nikon was Ben Dean for Exsequor, college finalist; and Clean Happy Awards sponsored by Method was Callie Hornsby for messiest child photo, grand-prize winner.

Award winners of the Ohio University School of Art and Design Undergraduate Juried Art Exhibition 2014 were Bonnie Clay for “It’s Either Black or White,” president’s award; Alexander Hamilton for “Minotauro,” winning entry; Callie Hornsby, “At Peace with Your Lifestyle,” winning entry; Rosemary Howell, “Mucus,” winning entry; Kenna Kelley, “Ready to Go,” winning entry; Amy Smith, “Why?,” winning entry; and Deborah Virgin, “Mystic Ride,” winning entry.

Associate of Applied Science students recognized were Christie D. Scott, child development; Christie D. Scott; Ethan R. Martin, computer science technology; John J. Gulley, electronic media; Jessamyn N. Rice, equine studies; Cheryl A. Ruggles, health technology; Kristina M. Ortega, human services technology; and Joshua D. Jewell, law enforcement technology.

Bachelor of Arts graduate Michelle R. Dotts and bachelor of criminal justice graduate Matthew T. McGraw were recognized along with

Bachelor of Science graduates Charles Heim, applied management; Thomas A. Charles II, communication; Betty A. Boggs, early childhood education; Jessica Griffith, early childhood education; and Shelby Fuller, middle childhood education.

Other students earning bachelor’s degrees who were recognized were Wesley P. Hall, health; Patricia Henderson, specialized studies; and Ashley Poff, technical and applied studies.

Leadership Awards were presented to academic team members RachelLee Banfield, president and graduate; Caleb Blackburn, treasurer and captain of the Kentucky Collegiate Quick Recall League all-league team graduate; and Rachel McWharter, vice president.

ACTION Psychology Club members Cassandra Ball, graduate, RachelLee Banfield, vice president graduate; Macmilan Maddox, treasurer; Ashley McDougal, graduate; Hanna Wilkes, president; and Tiffany Williams, public information officer graduate were honored as were OUS Art Collaborative members Megan Cox, secretary; Kenna Kelley, president; Sarah Simmons, vice president and Valerie Windhorst, treasurer. Student nurses association president William Zachary Hampton was recognized as well.

Closing remarks were made by associate professor of English and faculty coordinator Dr. Hayley Haugen. Rebecca Johnson provided music and refreshments were served immediately following the presentations.