IHS freshman nominated to attend conference in D.C.

Published 4:36 pm Thursday, September 18, 2014

Kellogg invited to Future Medical Leaders


Ironton High School freshman Mikey Kellogg has been nominated to attend the Congress of Future Medical Leaders Nov. 14-16 in Washington, D.C., according to a press release.

The congress is an honors-only program for high school students who want to become physicians or go into medical research fields. The purpose of the congress is to honor, inspire, motivate and direct the top students in the country to stay true to their dream and provide a path, plan and resources to help them reach their goal.

Email newsletter signup

Kellogg was nominated to represent IHS by medical director of the National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists to represent IHS based on his academic achievement, leadership potential and determination to serve humanity in the field of medicine, according to the release.

“This is a crucial time in America when we need more doctors and medical scientists who are even better prepared for a future that is changing exponentially,” Richard Rossi, executive director of the National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists, said. “Focused, bright and determined students like Mikey Kellogg are our future and he deserves all the mentoring and guidance we can give him.”

The theme of the November 2014 Congress is “Greatness Awaits,” and scholars will be mentored by some of the greatest living minds in medicine — men and women who are literally leading humanity into the 21st Century of medical miracles.

Attendees will hear from luminaries of the medical field, leaders of the profession from government and the public sector.

Speakers include Nobel Prize laureates, top medical school deans, leaders in medical research and cutting-edge technology and leaders from private industry.

At the close of the congress scholars will participate in a formal candlelit ceremony where they will be awarded the National Academy of Future Physicians and Medical Scientists Award of Achievement.