Morgan, Lemley get district golf POY honors

Published 1:06 am Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Jim Walker


It looks like Brent Morgan has put two great rounds together once again. Only this time it’s off the course.

The Coal Grove Hornets’ senior golfer went back-to-back as he was voted the Southeast District Golf Coaches’ Division III Player of the Year for a second straight season.

Morgan was named to the district first team. He was joined on the team by freshman Trevor Deere who was as an honorable mention selection.

Chesapeake Panthers’ sophomore Derek Lemley was a first team pick and the Player of the Year. Lemley qualified for the state tournament as an individual.

Chesapeake senior Shane Stevens was a second team choice. Ironton Fighting Tigers’ senior Jaylen Thornhill and Chesapeake freshman Jake Stevens were honorable mention.

In the girls’ voting, Coal Grove Lady Hornets senior Tori Holmes was a first team pick in Division II. Teammate Alex Gillette was selected honorable mention.

Southeast Ohio District

Golf Coaches All-District Team

Boys’ Division I

First Team

Jacob Barstow, Logan 11

Austin Bagshaw, Hillsboro 12

Jeffery Hensler, Marietta 11

Logan Holbrook, Logan 12

Cole Massey, Jackson 12

Nick Thieman, Marietta 12

Second Team

Jacob Deatley, Hillsboro 11

Hunter Fizer, Logan 11

Garrett Bertram, Marietta 12

Paul Duffy, Logan 11

Jared Lemaster, Jackson 10

Alex Vanzant, Hillsboro 11

Honorable Mention

Max Fitzgerald, Marietta 12

Jared Walker, Logan 11

Adam Kirby, Jackson 12

Travis Wehrung, Hillsboro 11

Player of the Year: Jacob Barstow, Logan

Coach of the Year: Keith Meyers, Logan


Boys’ Division II

First Team

Derek Lemley, Chesapeake 10

Mitchell McFarland, Wheelersburg 11

Caleb Herd, Fairfield Union 12

Caleb Arnold, Zane Trace 11

Andrew Harley, New Lexington 12

Sam Calvin, Unioto 12

Andrew Pettenski, Westfall 12

Second Team

Casey Moore, Piketon 10

Devin Munyan, Fairfield 11

Shane Stevens, Chesapeake 12

Brandon Jones, Portsmouth 12

Dares Hamid, Gallia Academy 11

Jordan Tieman, Portsmouth West 10

Honorable Mention

Thomas Green, Fairfield Union 11

Seth Follis, Logan Elm 11

Taae Hamid, Gallia Academy 9

Brian Chaney, Zane Trace 10

Jaylen Thornhill, Ironton 12

Mitchell Creamer, Miami Trace 10

David Davis, Meigs 12

Ryan McCarthy, Athens 12

Dallas Swiney, Alexander 12

Hunter Miller, Adena 12

Brnyden Metzger, New Lexington 10

Aaron Sharp, McClain 12

Kyler Dennis, Warren 10

Kyle Griener, Westfall 11

Cody Finley, Portsmouth West

Peyton Cooper, Unioto 11

Logan , River Valley 11

Austin Ward, Vinton County 11

Trent Rodbell, Portsmouth 11

DJ Graham, Piketon 10

Jake Stevens, Chesapeake 9

Player of the Year: Derek Lemley, Chesapeake

Coach of the Year: David Senften, Fairfield Union


Boys’ Division III

First Team

Brent Morgan, Coal Grove 12

Sam Petty, Belpre 12

Cameron Bosner, Waterford 11

Craig HortonWest Union 10

Taylor Anderson, North Adams 12

Jordan Welch, Waterford 10

Second Team

Alex Perry, Belpre 12

Josh Stewart, Waterford 11

Jacob Hoback, Southern 12

Logan Plummer, Belpre 10

Brandon Daniel, West Union 12

Zach Schuler, Fairfield 11

Honorable Mention

Trevor Deere, Coal Grove 9

Bradley McCoy, Southern

Elijah McCarty, West Union

Patrick England, North Adams

Brad Bumgarner, Fairfield

Ryan McGee, Belpre

Ty Bissell, Eastern

Quentin Alley, Eastern Pike

Brent Ginther, Waterford

Player of the Year: Brent Morgan, Coal Grove

Coach of the Year: Josh Arnold, Waterford


Girls’ Division I

First Team

Madison Ferell, Logan Fr

Riley Hynus, Logan Fr

Dailyn Simpson, Logan Fr

Delaney Tootle, Logan Fr

Player of the Year: Madison Ferrell, Logan

Coach of the Year: Stephanie Williams


Girls’ Division II

First Team

Jackie Cunningham, Belpre Sr

Alana Delancey, Belpre Jr

Tori Holmes, Coal Grove Sr

Jane Kubala Warren Sr

Kaitlynn Sandstrom, Westfall Sr

McKenzie Dietz, Waterford Fr

Second Team

Shania Massie, McClain Sr

Taylor Woodbridge, Zane Trace Sr

Kylee Applegate, North Adams Jr

Victoria Walker, Meigs Sr

Amy Surratt, Logan Elm Jr

Jade Spriggs, North Adams Jr

Honorable Mention

MJ Daugherty, Alexander

Kaylee Smith, McClain

Bethany Sweeney, Manchester

Rayanna McFarland, West Union

Ashley Acree, Southern

Mallory McCorkle, Jackson

Caitlyn Young, North Adams

Abby Eichmiller, Waterford

Anzley Schenz, Warren

Grace Edwards, Eastern

Dannett Davis, Meigs

Grace Larrick, Fairfield

Alex Gillette, Coal Grove Fr.

Piper Lewis, Westfall

Bethany Johnson, Zane Trace

Rachel Pennington, Logan Elm

Emma Knipp, Unioto

Player of the Year: Jackie Cunningham, Belpre

Coach of the YearJosh Arnold, Waterford