Local trio head for state XC meet

Published 12:55 am Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Jim Walker



PICKERINGTON — They say things come in threes. They did for area cross country runners.

Rock Hill Redmen junior Seth Miller — who is making a return trip — and sophomore Brandon McCormick will join Fairland Lady Dragons’ senior Shanan Ashton as the trio head to the Ohio High School Athletic Association Division II state cross country meet on Saturday.

The meet will be held at National Trail Raceway in Hebron. The Div. II boys meets is at 11:45 a.m. and the girls’ Div. II meet is 2:15 p.m.

The day begins with the Div. III at 11 a.m. followed by Div. II boys and then Div. I boys at 12:30 p.m. The girls Div. II is at 1:30 followed by the Div. II girls and then the Div. I girls at 3 p.m.

The trio qualified last Saturday in the regional meet at Pickerington.

Millers ran a 16:50.62 to place sixth overall while McCormick was 14th with a 17:01.09 time.

Ashton ran a 20:00.96 to place ninth overall. The top 16 runners qualify along with the top four teams.

Results of local runners at regional meet:

Regional Cross Country Meet

Division III Boys

Ironton: Chad Garris 19:34.77; Tim Maynard 19:36.94; Joe Matkins 20:26.57; Andy Bruce 21:51.26; Luke Diamond 22:46.59; Connor Ramey 23:43.95; Cody Rawlins 24:39.34.

Coal Grove: Wyatt Schultz 20:18.60; Josh Pierce 20:23.86; Ty Morrow 20:26.09; Austin Bridges 22:02.36; Michael Knuckles 22:34.67; Mark Sites 24:23.74; Tyler Waddle 25:28.68.

Division III Girls

Coal Grove: Chesie Curry 26:12.01; Lauren Meyer 23:19.28.


Division II Girls

Fairland: Shanan Ashton 20:00.96; Jessica Price 20:37.24; Hannah Wilson 23:25.46; Sarah Warnock 23:53.53; Kaylan Hager 24:05.92; Emmy Fulks 24:29.19; Angel Wallace 25:15.04.

Division II Boys

Rock Hill: Seth Miller 16:50.62; Brendon McCormick 17:01.09; Nathan Turvey 18:40.42; Brandon Burditt 19:04.05; Tim Secoy 19:43.69; Cody Lewis 20:09.71, Seth Baker 20:13.83.

Fairland: Tristen Wilson 18:01.40; Bryce Day 18:25.85; Bryson Bias 18:27.26; Connor Flynn 18:31.54; Brandon Bowman 19:04.28; Hunter Ashton 19:22.22; Jake Wheeler 20:25.14.

South Point: Tyler Mathes 17:16.02; Tanner Mathes 18:00.92.