Cueto, Pena win Reds’ top awards

Published 12:41 am Sunday, December 7, 2014

Staff Report


CINCINNATI — Friday night on the main stage during FOX Sports Ohio Redsfest presented by PNC Bank at Duke Energy Convention Center downtown, the local chapter of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America and the Reds announced their award winners for individual performances for 2014:

Email newsletter signup

Right-handed pitcher Johnny Cueto (34gs, 20-9, 2.25) was named winner of the BBWAA’s Ernie Lombardi Award as the team’s Most Valuable Player and the Johnny Vander Meer Most Outstanding Pitcher Award.

Catcher and first baseman Brayan Pena (115g, .253, 5hr, 26rbi) received the BBWAA’s Joe Nuxhall Good Guy Award.

Right-handed pitcher Ben Lively (26gs, 13-7, 3.04 at Bakersfield/Pensacola) received the Sheldon “Chief” Bender Award as the organization’s Minor League Player of the Year.

The organization’s other minor league award winners were Hitter of the Year outfielder Kyle Waldrop (131g, .338, 37 2b, 14hr, 67rbi, 14sb at Pensacola/Bakersfield) and Pitcher of the Year rigfht-hander Nick Travieso (26gs, 14-5, 3.03 at Dayton).

Outfielder Jon Matthews (80g, .317 at Dayton/Bakersfield) received the Minor League Community Service Award.