Eddy Test winners honored at annual banquet

Published 12:20 pm Friday, May 15, 2015

On Thursday the Child Welfare Club presented the 2015 Eddy Awards to 11 winners at a banquet at Ohio University Southern-Ironton Campus.

The test is given to the top 25 percent of the sixth grade students from Ironton Middle School and St. Lawrence Catholic School. This year 34 students qualified to take the test, which was administered on March 17 at Ironton Middle School.

The Child Welfare Club established this program 53 years ago. It is the club’s longest

Email newsletter signup

continuous project.  The Eddy Award was established to identify students who attain superior academic achievement in the sixth grade.

The 2015 winners are St. Lawrence student: Joshua Kline, son of Chris and Rhonda Kline; and Ironton Middle School students: Reid Carrico, son of Gary and Shelley Carrico; Dalton Crabtree, son of Chris and Dana Crabtree; Gunnar Crawford, son of Gregory Crawford and Kimberly Crawford; Jariah Dobbs, daughter of Amanda Gillum and Jack Dobbs; Isaac Fisher, son of Yulana Fisher; Benjamin Herrmann-Holt, son of Jim and Beth Rudmann, and Matt Holt; Matthew Sexton, son of Stephen Sexton and Rochelle Arthur; Brynn Taylor, daughter of Aaron and Ginny Taylor; Will York, son of Todd and Melissa York; and Lilly Zornes, daughter of Jay and Bekki Zornes.