Ironton wins own golf tournament

Published 3:16 am Tuesday, August 11, 2015

Jim Walker


PINE GROVE — The Ironton Fighting Tigers might have left some of their game on the course, but they managed to take plenty with them.

In the first golf match of the season, the Fighting Tigers won their own invitational on Monday in a nine-team field.

“Honestly, we left a lot of shots on the course, but everybody does at this time of the year,” said Ironton coach A.J. McKnight.

“Mitchell (Weisgarber) in particular hit some good putts that didn’t fall. Chandler (Dodson) did a great job recovering from a poor start. It’s nice to start the season off with a win, but it’s a long way to go to where we want to be.”

Ironton won the tournament with a 364 team scored. Jackson’s A-team was next at 377 while the B-team was third with a 383 score.

The Coal Grove Hornets were fourth at 391, the Fairland Dragons had an even 400, the Rock Hill Redmen had a 431 with Logan Reed shooting a 74 for medalist honors, Alexander had a 450 and the St. Joseph Flyers had a 468 score.

South Point did not have a team score.

Cory Rawlins led Ironton with an 84 and earned all-tournament team honors. Dodson was next with an 87 followed by Weisgarber with 94, Mason Slagel 97 and Trevin Dutey 102.

“I’m proud of Cory. He has been through a lot on and off the course in his career. He deserves to kick off the season this way,” said Ironton coach A.J. McKnight.

Joining Reed and Rawlins on the all-tournament team were Hayden James of Fairland and the Jackson trio of Jarred LeMaster, John Bachtel and Dakota Sampson.

Coal Grove was led by Trevor Deere with an 89. Alex Gillette had a 96, Ryan Meadows 98, Jed Whitworth 108 and Ethan Wilson 110.

James had a 76 for the Dragons while Cameron Shepherd shot a 92, Connor Franklin and Dylan Raines 116 each and Eli Bowen 119.

Rock Hill’s total besides Reed included Jason Haywood 110, Chase Nelson 120, Kylie Noel 127 and Austin Riddle 137.

Chase Walters shot a 103 to pace the Flyers. James Carter and Zac McGraw both shot 119, Seth Kelley 127 and Isaac Walker 134.

South Point’s trio had Beau Taylor with a 106, Abby Kincaid 136 and Tiffany Fitzpatrick 140.

Ironton plays in the Portsmouth Invitational on Thursday.

Ironton Invitational Team Scores

IRONTON 364: Mitchell Weisgarber 94, Chandler Dodson 87, Mason Slagel 97, Cory Rawlins 86, Trevin Dutey 102.

JACKSON A 377: Jarred LeMaster 81, John Bachtel 85, Rickey Fraley 94, Nick Weaver 122, Ethan Mercer 116.

JACKSON B 383: Evan Coyan 91, Dakota Sampson 85; Derek Murray 107, Alex Miller 100, Aiden Massie 110.

COAL GROVE 391: Trevor Deere 89, Ryan Meadows 98, Alex Gillette 96, Ethan Wilson 110, Jed Whitworth 108.

FAIRLAND 400: Hayden James 76, Cameron Shepherd 92, Connor Franklin 116, Dylan Raines 116, Eli Bowen 119.

ROCK HILL 431: Logan Reed 74, Jason Haywood 110, Chase Nelson 120, Kylie Noel 127, Austin Riddle 137.

ALEXANDER 450: Taylor Boggs 110, Andrew Vogt 116, Casey McDonald 106, Tyler Martin 118, Jonnathan Ray 137.

ST. JOSEPH 468: James Carter 119, Zac McGraw 119, Chase Walters 103, Seth Kelley 127, Isaac Walker 134.

SOUTH POINT (No team score): Beau Taylor 106, Tiffany Fitzpatrick 140, Abby Kincaid 136.


Logan Reed, Rock Hill, 74

Hayden James, Fairland, 76

Jarred LeMaster, Jackson, 81

John Bachtel, Jackson, 85

Dakota Sampson, Jackson, 86

Cory Rawlins, Ironton, 86