Redmen use tiebreaker to win OVC cross country title

Published 1:18 am Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Jim Walker


PORTSMOUTH — Nathan Turvey proved he wasn’t just another runner.

When Rock Hill’s top five runner scores and Gallipolis’ top five runner scores each totaled 36, the Ohio Valley Conference cross country meet had to use the tiebreaker, namely the No. 6 runner score.

Turvey ran a 19:07.94 to finish 16th while Fairland’s Van Knipp ran a 19:30.49 to place 18th, thus giving Rock Hill the OVC cross country title.

After Rock Hill and Fairland, Gallipolis was third with 63 points in its first OVC meet. Portsmouth was next with 96, Coal Grove 168, Ironton 170 and South Point 191.

Rock Hill’s Seth Miller ran a 17:01.1 to win the 5K race for the second straight year and teammate Brendon McCormick was second at 17:14.38.

Kaleb Crisenberry of Gallipolis (17:43.33) was third overall followed by Tristen Wilson (17:44.98) of Fairland, Kyle Greenlee (17:55.09) of Gallipolis, Brandon Bowman (18:11.57), Bryce Day (18:18.12) and Conner Flynn (18:20.26) all of Fairland, and Victor Aguilera (18:22.85) and Ethan Miller (18:23.81) of Rock Hill to complete the top 10 runners.

Fairland’s Zack Kincaid was No. 11 at 18:27.32.

Coal Grove’s top runners were Evan Holmes (21:10.31), Josh Pierce (22:48.40), James Webb (22:50.69), Cole Gannon (22:57.88) and Zach Brubaker (25:20.33.

Ironton’s top five runners were Wesley Monroe (21:31.00), Connor Ramey (21:49.34), Derek McCallister (23:09.59), Cody Rawlins (23:16.29), Brett Ashley (23:44.89) and Austin Hammonds (234:00.93).

Leading South Point were Brycen McCann (21:14.31), Austin Johnson (23:10.34), Adrien Johnson (24:43.57), Jordan Parker (26:19.93) and Eli Lucas (26:35.77).

The Fairland Lady Dragons won the girls’ meet with 34 points. Gallipolis was next with 41, Rock Hill had 58 and Ironton 111.

Gallipolis’ Mary Watts (20:07.64) and Mesa Polcyn (20:18.35) finished one and two overall.

McKenna Pannell of Fairland was third at 20:54.74 followed by Sarah McFann of Rock Hill (21:33.75), Haleigh Fuller (22:30.23) and Hannah Wilson (22:39.86) of Fairland, Tylan Eastham (22:43.58) of Rock Hill, Shianne Littlejon (23:54.29) of Coal Grove, Ally Stewart (24:09.17) of Rock Hill and Deanna Hall (24:13.04) of South Point to round out the top 10.

In the middle school meet, Rock Hill won the boys’ meet with 16 points. South Point had 52 and Coal Grove 57.

Eli Bake of Rock Hill won the event. Ethan Lafon of Fairland was second followed by Rock Hill’a Jasson Aguilera, Brady Floyd and Nick Blankenship, Coal Grove’s Dylan French, Gallipolis’ Grant Smith, Rock Hill’s Jordan Griffith, Gallipolis’ Tristan Crisenberry and Coal Grove’s Trevor Carey.

Fairland won the girls’ meet with 39 points. Rock Hill had 51, Gallipolis 52 and Coal Grove 78.

Emma Marshall of Fairland won the 3200 meter race followed by Sarah Watts of Gallipolis and Camryn Miller of Rock Hill.

Rounding out the top 10 were Brooke Johnson of Gallipolis, Isabella Dilts of Rock Hill, Sarah Cecil of Coal Grove, Aya Jammal and Morriah Howard of Fairland, Dani Pitsenbarger of Coal Grove and Olivia Lewis of Fairland.