Election 2016: Candidates pass review of petitions

Published 10:15 am Tuesday, December 22, 2015

While the only certainty right now in the Lawrence County Commissioners’ race is that Democrat Deanna Holliday will face someone in November for the seat now held by incumbent Les Boggs, eight officeholders won’t have to worry about the fall.

The following incumbents will face no competition in March and November so they will start a new term in 2017.

Going into their fourth full terms are county recorder Sharon Hager and county treasurer Stephen Burcham; third full terms, sheriff Jeff Lawless, county coroner Kurt Hofmann and county clerk Mike Patterson, second full terms, prosecuting attorney Brigham Anderson and state representative Ryan Smith and first full term, county engineer Patrick Leighty.

Email newsletter signup

On Monday the county board of elections certified the petitions of all candidates filing. The only contested county race is for county commission with incumbent Bill Pratt vying with Ohio University Southern professor Dave Lucas in the Republican primary and Jon Ferguson, Doug Malone, Jason Tolliver and Tim Edwards on the Democratic side.

Rich Blankenship, Christopher Collins and incumbent Les Boggs are on the Republican side for Boggs’ seat with Holliday to face the primary winner in November.

The primary will be March 15.