Independents seeking commission, treasurer seats

Published 10:33 am Friday, May 20, 2016

Two Independent candidates will be on the November general election ballot.

Petitions from Jonathan Ater and Katrina Hunt were certified at Thursday’s meeting of the county board of elections.

Ater is seeking the county commission seat currently held by Les Boggs. Boggs was defeated in the Republican primary by Christopher Collins, currently assistant director of the department of job and family services. The two men will face Democrat DeAnna Holliday in the fall.

Email newsletter signup

In 2008, Ater ran for county recorder against incumbent Republican Sharon Hager and Democrat Susan Sheridan. Hager won. Ater tried to run for county auditor against Jason Stephens and Stephen Dale Burcham in 2010. However, his petitions at that time were not certified.

From 2006-2012 Ater has voted eight times, all at the polls. In the 2006 and 2012 primaries, he voted for the Republican ticket. In 2008 he voted on an issues-only ballot.

Hunt will face incumbent Democrat Stephen Dale Burcham, who is going for his fourth term. She has no voting history.