Frazier, Trumbo lead Home Run Derby field

Published 1:56 am Friday, July 8, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) — Defending champion Todd Frazier and majors homer leader Mark Trumbo lead the field for Monday’s All-Star Home Run Derby in San Diego.

Frazier, second in the American League with 23 homers, will take on Colorado’s Carlos Gonzalez in the first round, while Trumbo — the No. 1 seed and current major league leader with 26 — faces the Los Angeles Dodgers’ Corey Seager.

Cincinnati’s Adam Duvall is paired with the host Padres’ Wil Myers and Seattle’s Robinson Cano will go against Miami’s Giancarlo Stanton in the other matchups. The Trumbo-Seager winner will face Cano or Stanton in the semifinals, while the Frazier-Gonzalez winner will go against Duvall or Myers.

Email newsletter signup

Brackets were based on season home run totals through Wednesday.

Each batter gets four minutes per round. A batter may call a 45-second timeout in each of the first two rounds, and two in the final. Players can earn 30 seconds of bonus time with two homers of 440 feet or more.

2016 Home Run Derby Competitors

Monday, July 11

At at Petco Park, San Diego

No. 1 Mark Trumbo, Baltimore

No. 2 Todd Frazier, Chicago White Sox

No. 3 Adam Duvall, CINCINNATI

No. 4 Robinson Cano, Seattle

No. 5 Giancarlo Stanton, Miami

No. 6 Wil Myers, San Diego

No. 7 Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado

No. 8 Corey Seager, L.A. Dodgers

First Round

No. 1 Mark Trumbo, Baltimore, vs. No. 8 Corey Seager, L.A. Dodgers

No. 4 Robinson Cano, Seattle, vs. No. 5 Giancarlo Stanton, Miami

No. 3 Adam Duvall, CINCINNATI, vs. No. 6 Wil Myers, San Diego

No. 2 Todd Frazier, Chicago White Sox, vs. No. 7 Carlos Gonzalez, Colorado Second Round

Trumbo-Seager winner vs. Cano-Stanton winner

Duvall-Myers winner vs. Frazier-Gonzalez winner Championship

Trumbo-Seager-Cano-Stanton winner vs. Duvall-Myers-Frazier-Gonzalez winner

Bracket Format

Single-elimination tournament in which loser of each bracket is eliminated.

Seeding was based on 2016 home run totals through July 6th. The tiebreak between Stanton and Myers was decided by home runs hit since June 15th.

In each bracket, the higher seed will hit second (i.e. Trumbo, Frazier, Duvall, Cano).


Four minutes per batter, per round. Timer starts with release of the first pitch.

A round ends when the timer strikes zero. A home run shall count provided the pitch was released before the timer strikes zero.

A pitcher cannot throw a pitch until a batted ball has hit the ground, was caught or left the field of play in foul territory.

Bonus Time

Thirty seconds of bonus time awarded for two home runs that each equal or exceed 440 feet.

Distances will be tracked and posted using MLB Advanced Medias Statcast powered by AWS.

Any bonus time awarded will be added at the end of the initial four-minute round, and the timer will not stop during the bonus time period.


Batter with most home runs hit in each matchup will advance to next round.

Ties in any round will be broken by a 60-second swing-off with no stoppage of time or additional time added; if a tie remains after the swing-off, batters will engage in successive three-swing swing-offs until there is a winner.

If the second batter hits more than the first batter in any matchup, he will be declared winner and not attempt to hit additional home runs.

Each batter entitled to one 45-second “time out” in the first round and semi-finals. Each batter entitled to two “time outs” in the final round – a 45-second time out first, and then a 30-second time out.