Herd lands 4 on C-USA preseason team

Published 1:24 am Thursday, July 21, 2016

IRVING, Tx. — Marshall offensive linemen Michael Selby and Clint Van Horn were named preseason All-Conference USA by the league’s 13 head coaches, along with tight end Ryan Yurachek and defensive lineman Gary Thompson in a Wednesday afternoon announcement.

Selby and Van Horn were also first-team preseason picks by Athlon, as was Thompson, while Yurachek was named to the publication’s second team.

Selby has started every game the past two seasons for coach Alex Mirabal’s offensive line, amassing 106 knockdowns. He has seen action for 2,016 offensive snaps over the course of his three-year career.

Email newsletter signup

Van Horn, who was selected to the Outland Trophy Watch List for the second straight season earlier this month, is a two-time all-league honoree.

The Beckley native has started 25 games for the program and was named to C-USA’s Commissioner’s Honor Roll a year ago.

Yurachek has collected several accolades this summer. Last week, he was named to the Wuerffel Trophy Watch List and the AFCA Good Works Team on the heels of his selection to the John Mackey Award Watch List.

He had 44 catches for 417 yards and nine touchdowns last year, a total that led all Thundering Herd non-kickers in scoring, and was named to the league’s 2015-16 Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

Thompson was an honorable mention all-conference selection last season after racking up a team-high nine sacks and 12.5 tackles for loss.