Proctorville swears in four new officers

Published 12:00 am Sunday, July 31, 2016

PROCTORVILLE — The village of Proctorville swore in four new police officers on July 22.

Eric Morgan, Tyson Smith, Matthew Chinn and Cody Grohoski were given the oath by Mayor Rick Dunfee at village hall.

The new officers have a diverse employment background.

Email newsletter signup

Police chief Bill Murphy said Morgan is an army veteran and active in the National Guard, while Smith teaches special education at Spring Valley Chinn works for Marathon Oil.

Grohoski and Smith will serve as part-time officers, while Morgan and Grohoski will aid in fugitive recovery, Murphy said.

He said that the full-time position of officer Amanda Webb, who recently left the department to take a job with Chesapeake Police, has been split into two part-time positions.