Ohio State, Michigan top Big Ten selections

Published 4:29 am Tuesday, December 6, 2016

The Associated Press

Ohio State and Michigan dominated the selections for The Associated Press All-Big Ten football team.
The Buckeyes placed eight players on the first team, with center Pat Elflein and punter Cameron Johnston unanimous picks. The Wolverines had five players occupy six spots on the first team, with cornerback Jourdan Lewis a unanimous pick. The only other player named to the first team on every ballot was running back Saquon Barkley of conference champion Penn State.
A panel of 26 writers and broadcasters from the 11 Big Ten states voted Barkley the offensive player of the year, Michigan linebacker Jabrill Peppers the defensive player of the year and Ohio State running back Mike Weber the newcomer of the year.
Penn State’s James Franklin is coach of the year. Franklin trailed Wisconsin’s Paul Chryst heading into the conference championship game on Saturday, but Franklin was named on 12 of the 13 ballots submitted after the Nittany Lions’ 38-31 victory over the Badgers.
Repeat first-team selections were Elflein, Lewis, Iowa cornerback Desmond King and Michigan tight end Jake Butt.

Email newsletter signup