Herd puts 4 frosh on C-USA rookie team

Published 2:17 am Thursday, December 8, 2016

IRVING, Texas —Marshall tied Old Dominion with a league-high four All-Freshman selections and had eight overall honorees as Conference USA released its first day of postseason football awards Tuesday afternoon.
In voting by the 13 C-USA football coaches, the league selects first and second teams and honorable mention all-conference picks, to go with the All-Freshman squad.
Long snapper Matt Beardall, offensive lineman Levi Brown, defensive back Chris Jackson and defensive lineman Ty Tyler were tabbed as all-rookie honorees, giving the program 30 since joining Conference USA in 2005.
Defensive back Rodney Allen, defensive linemen Ryan Bee and Gary Thompson and tight end Ryan Yurachek were also given honorable mention all-conference status. Thompson and Yurachek were 2015 C-USA honorable mention picks and Bee received the All-Freshman nod last year.
The league’s individual awards will be released on Wednesday. They are Most Valuable Player, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Special Teams Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Email newsletter signup