Flyers’ soccer team gets NSCAA academic award

Published 2:43 am Wednesday, March 1, 2017

The St. Joseph Flyers’ 2015-16 soccer team was honored by the National Soccer Coaches Association of American (NSCAA) with the 2015-16 High School Team Academic Award. Team members were: front row is Joey Bush; second row from left to right, Ethan Clark, Ethan Sheridan, Isaac Whaley, Bryson Canter and Tre Neal; third row from left to right, Judge Williams, Nick Ward, Peyton Adkins and Blake Balestra; fourth row from left to right, Seth Kelley, Alex Ward, Isaac Walker, Trey Clark and Clay Willis; fifth row from left to right, Brad Rist, Tyler Ward, T.J. Stone, Zach McGraw, Dylan Arrington and Daniel Hodges. (Kent Sanborn of Southern Ohio Sports Photos)

The St. Joseph Flyers’ boys’ soccer team was recognized by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) with the 2015-16 High School Team Academic Award.
The NSCAA annually recognizes high school soccer programs that have excelled in the classroom, in addition to their performance on the field.
The Flyers’ soccer team was one of 389 teams (138 boys, 251 girls) nationwide recognized for exemplary performance in the classroom as a team during the 2015-16 academic year.
Among these programs are 48 schools receiving honors for both their boys’ and girls’ teams.
A full list of 2015-16 NSCAA Team Academic Award recipients can be found at Lists of all-time winners can be found at: All-Time Boys’ Winners  |  All-Time Girls’ Winners.
To qualify for this award, the team must have a minimum grade point average of 3.25 for the entire academic year. The team GPA is determined by adding every players’ GPA, then dividing by the number of players.
The National Soccer Coaches Association of America  (NSCAA) administers an extensive high school awards and recognition program which includes Coach of the Year, All-America, long-term service, and special recognition awards designed to recognize excellence in soccer, academics, and service to the game.
In all, nearly 11,000 awards are presented by the NSCAA each year for high school, college and youth soccer programs.
These awards and recognition are available only to NSCAA member coaches and their players.
St. Joseph 2015-16 team members were:
Seniors: Tyler Ward, Alexander Ward, Judge Williams, Seth Kelley; Juniors: Daniel Hodges, Blake Balestra, Joey Bush, Isaac Walker, Dylan Arrington, Trey Clark, Nicholas Ward, Zach McGraw, Tre Neal, Peyton Adkins, Bradley Rist; Sophiomores: Bryson Canter, Clay Willis; Freshmen: Ethan Sheridan, Ethan Clark, Isaac Whaley.
Head coach is Mike Balestra and assistant coaches are Al Bush, John Willis and Mike Arrington.

Email newsletter signup