Ohio Basketball HOF to induct Oaks’ Persin

Published 12:10 am Friday, March 31, 2017

Jim Walker

COLUMBUS — And the awards just keep coming for Norm Persin.
Persin was inducted into the Ohio High School Basketball Coaches’ Hall of Fame last April 23. He racked up career win No. 700 on Jan. 20 when the Oak Hill Oaks routed Northwest 74-28.
Persin — who is 708-200 overall in his career at Oak Hill, Chesapeake and Wilmington — will add yet another honor on Saturday, May 20, when he joins The Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame that celebrates some of Ohio’s greatest legends
One of only three boys’ high school coaches in Ohio with 700 or more wins, Persin will one of 21 individuals who will be inducted.
The list includes Ron Bonham, Jerry Carder, Jim Carder, Jim Chones, Johnny Davis, Mark “Buzzy” Davis, Fred Foster, Bob Hamilton, Cheri Harrer, Richard Kiser, Jantel Lavender, Carol Madsen, Buddy Mayborg (official), David Nash (official), Ann Meyers, Mel Riebe, Charles Share, Eugene “Middie” Smith, Hank Stein and Craig Taylor.
Some notable past honorees include Bevo Francis, New Oliver, Oscar Robertson, Bobby Knight, Jerry Lucas, Wayne Embry, Jay Burson, Fred Taylor, Nate Thurmond, Jack Twyman, Clark Kellogg, Jimmy Jackson, John Havlicek, Bob Arnzen, Gary Gradds, Jim and John Paxson, Don Donoher, Jim Clemons, Allan Hornyak, Larry Siegfriend, Herb Williams, Frank Howard, Eldon Miller, Maurice Stokes, Lenny Wilkens, Robin Hagen-Smith, Dick Kortokrax, Brad Dougherty, Wally Szczerbiak, Kenyon Martin, Marlene Stollings and Larry Hunter.

Email newsletter signup

This year’s Ohio Heritage Award Recipient is Don Henderson.
Team inductees are the 1972 and 1973 Indian Valley South High School and the Ohio University men’s tennis teams of 1963-64 and 1964-65.
The Ohio Basketball Hall of Fame recognizes the achievements of both male and female basketball players in high school, college and professional basketball, successful coaches on all levels and those who have impacted the game along the way.
The Hall of Fame began in 2006.
The event will be held at the Greater Columbus Convention Center. For tickets, go online at www.ohiobasketballhalloffame.com