Isaac, Helton earn OHSAA scholar-athlete scholarship

Published 12:18 am Saturday, July 29, 2017

COLUMBUS — The Ohio High School Athletic Association and its six District Athletic Boards will hand out $148,750 in college scholarships to 186 recent high school graduates following selections made by each of the OHSAA’s six District Athletic Boards.
Ironton’s Jake Isaac and South Point’s Jakob Helton were the two local students who earned a student-athlete scholarship award.
Earlier, South Point’s Chris Tatlonghari was named the district minority scholar-athlete.
The OHSAA’s annual college scholarship program is now in its 25th year.
Thirty-six of the honorees will receive $1,000 awards from the OHSAA, including six (one from each district) who will receive an OHSAA Ethnic Minority Scholarship. The remaining 150 award winners are from the six respective DABs and will receive scholarships ranging from $500 to $750.
The point system used in each district is described below. Nike and Molten have also contributed to the OHSAA scholarship program.
Scholar-athlete recipients are selected based on a point system which rewards students for grade point averages; class rank; ACT or SAT scores; varsity letters earned; and individual and team athletic honors.
Isaac — an All-OVC and All-District selection in football — was a two-year starter in football and also participated in baseball, tennis and basketball.
Helton was an all-district player in soccer and tied the school record with 32 goals last season.
The number of scholarship recipients from each district are based upon the number of schools within the district. The recipients were selected by special committees within each of the OHSAA’s six athletic districts. Individuals who receive athletic scholarships from NCAA Division I or II institutions or appointees to military academies are not eligible for an award.
Southeast District
Scholar-Athlete List
Alek Blevins, South Webster
Emma Hoellrich, Lancaster Fairfield Union
Makayla Akers, Wheelersburg
Miles Cornwell, Gallipolis
Avery DeLong, Circleville
Jett Facemyer, Reedsville Eastern
Jordan Fick, Nelsonville-York
Cole Gilliland, Portsmouth Clay
Hannah Grosel, Marietta
Jakob Helton, South Point
T.J. Hoggard, Portsmouth West
William Hoover, Waverly
Jacob Issac, Ironton
Nathan Lowe, Sciotoville East
Cade Marquez, Waverly
Makalia Mitten, Southeastern
Nathan Riehl, Lucasville Valley – SEODAB Scholar-Athlete
Hope Tira, Hillsboro – SEODAB Scholar-Athlete
Alexis Waits, Lynchburg-Clay
Mary Watts, Gallipolis
Caitlin Young, North Adams

Email newsletter signup