Gaskin named to Ohio Mayor’s committee

Published 9:08 am Thursday, September 7, 2017

Will serve two terms on executive board

SOUTH POINT — South Point Mayor Jeff Gaskin has been elected to serve two terms on the executive committee of the Ohio Mayor’s Association.

Gaskin, who has served as the village’s mayor since December 2015, will represent District 11, which covers Lawrence, Pickaway, Hocking, Ross, Vinton, Pike, Jackson, Scioto, Meigs and Gallia counties.

“I am proud to have the opportunity to begin to bring the representation southern Ohio not only needs, but deserves,” Gaskin said in a statement.

Email newsletter signup

Gaskin, whose mayoral duties are part-time, works at the South Point station of Lawrence County Emergency Medical Services.

In his term as mayor, Gaskin has focused on the issue of improving the village’s water and sewer systems, as well as upgrading the village’s park.

His father served as the village’s mayor for nearly three decades until his death in 2010.

Prior to serving as mayor, Gaskin was a village council member for four years. His prior work experience includes 20 years as owner of a printing business in Huntington and 14 years at the Ohio River Valley Juvenile Correction center in franklin Furnace.

He and his wife, Anita, have two children and three grandchildren.
Gaskin was elected to the executive committee at the annual mayor’s association conference, which took place in Dublin in June.