Brady on Biletnikoff watch list

Published 11:57 pm Wednesday, October 11, 2017

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. – Marshall junior wide receiver Tyre Brady was named to the watch list of the Biletnikoff Award on Wednesday, an honor that recognizes the nation’s most outstanding receiver in college football. The award is given annually by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation.
Brady has been a Marshall captain twice this season and leads Conference USA with 99.0 receiving yards per game. His 495 total receiving yards also stands 24th nationally. He has 29 catches this season, four of which have resulted in touchdowns. His breakout performance came on September 9 at NC State, who is now ranked 20th nationally. The Homestead, Fla. native blistered the Wolfpack for 11 receptions for a Carter-Finley Stadium-record 248 yards, which included a 75-yarder for a touchdown. He also caught two touchdowns in the 14-3 win at Charlotte on Oct. 7 and one in the 31-26 season-opening win over Miami on September 2.
Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award.
As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes the outstanding receiver, not merely the outstanding wide receiver. The award is selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, and former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted.
Receivers are periodically added to the watch list as their season performances dictate. Actual, not potential, performance is the basis for inclusion on the Biletnikoff Award Watch List.
The 2017 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented live on December 7, 2017, on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show to be broadcast 7:00 – 9:00pm (EST) on ESPN. College Football Hall of Famer, Heisman Trophy winner, and Biletnikoff Award voter Desmond Howard will present the 2017 Biletnikoff Award winner on the show.
The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on Nov. 13 following the vote by the members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on Nov. 21.

Email newsletter signup