Barkley, Jewell win top Big Ten awards

Published 12:49 am Friday, December 1, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill. (AP) — Penn State running back Saquon Barkley has been named offensive player of the year in the Big Ten and Iowa linebacker Josey Jewell is defensive player of the year.
The two were honored Thursday as the Big Ten announced its football specialty awards.
Barkley ranks first in the conference and second nationally with an average of 179.5 all-purpose yards per game. Jewell was the only player in the Big Ten to average better than 10 tackles a game.
Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor, who averaged a Big Ten-leading 150 yards per game, is freshman of the year. Wisconsin’s Paul Chryst, whose Badgers are unbeaten and No. 4 in the College Football Playoff rankings, is coach of the year.
Award winners are chosen by a vote of coaches and a media panel. The Associated Press All-Big Ten teams and specialty awards, selected by writers and broadcasters who cover the league, will be announced Wednesday.

Email newsletter signup