Votto voted Reds’ MVP

Published 1:30 am Saturday, December 2, 2017

CINCINNATI — Friday on the main stage during FOX Sports Ohio Redsfest presented by PNC Bank at Duke Energy Convention Center downtown, the Cincinnati Reds and the local chapter of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America announced their 2017 award winners.
First baseman Joey Votto (162g, .320 BA, 34 2b, 1 3b, 36 HR, 100 RBI, 5 SB) for the sixth time overall and for the second straight year unanimously was named winner of the BBWAA’s Ernie Lombardi Award as the team’s Most Valuable Player.
The National League All-Star finished second in the national BBWAA’s Most Valuable Player Award voting, the fourth-closest race in the history of the award, and was a finalist for the prestigious Hank Aaron Award for hitting excellence.
Right-handed pitcher Raisel Iglesias (63g, 3-3- record, 28, 2.49 ERA, 76ip, 57h, 27bb, 92k) received the Johnny Vander Meer Most Outstanding Pitcher Award.
Third baseman Eugenio Suárez (156g, .260BA, 25 2b, 2 3b, 26 HR, 82 RBI, 4 SB) was voted the local BBWAA’s Joe Nuxhall Good Guy Award.
Also on Friday at Redsfest, infielder Nick Senzel (119g, .321BA, 40 2b, 3 triples, 14 HR, 65 RBI, 14 steals at Daytona/Pensacola) received the Sheldon “Chief” Bender Award as the organization’s Minor League Player of the Year.
The organization’s other minor league award winners honored tonight included Hitter of the Year Jose Siri (126g, .293, 24 doubles, 11 triples, 24 HR, 76 RBI, 46 stolen bases at Dayton) and Pitcher of the Year right-handed pitcher Tyler Mahle (24gs, 10-7, 2.06, 144.1ip, 109h, 30bb, 138k, 9hr at Pensacola/Louisville). In his Major League debut, Mahle also went 1-2, 2.70 in 4 starts for the Reds.
Right-handed pitcher Aaron Fossas (44g, 4-1, 2.43, 66.2ip, 61h, 16bb, 49k at Dayton) received the organization’s Minor League Community Service Award.

Email newsletter signup