Bagley, Bennett voted All-ACC top honors

Published 9:23 pm Tuesday, March 6, 2018

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) — Duke freshman forward Marvin Bagley III is The Associated Press player and newcomer of the year in the Atlantic Coast Conference, and Virginia’s Tony Bennett is its coach of the year.
Bagley — the only unanimous selection to the AP all-ACC team also announced Tuesday — earned 14 votes for the top overall individual honor and all 15 votes for the award for newcomers following a vote of 15 journalists who cover the ACC throughout the league’s nine states.
Bagley shares the ACC’s scoring lead with Boston College’s Jerome Robinson at 20.7 points per game and leads the conference with an average of 11.2. He’s one of only two players in the country to average more than 20 points and 10 rebounds while shooting better than 60 percent.
Bennett received 13 votes for the coaching award after taking a team picked to finish sixth in the ACC and guiding it to a 28-2 record, the school’s first No. 1 ranking since 1982 and the top seed in the ACC Tournament this week in Brooklyn, New York.
He was joined on the first team by Robinson along with two players from North Carolina — forward Luke Maye and guard Joel Berry — and Virginia’s Devon Hall.
Maye, who averages 17.7 points and 10.1 rebounds, joins Bagley as the only players in the league averaging a double-double.
Syracuse guard Tyus Battle, the league’s No. 3 scorer at 20 points per game, leads a second team that also includes Duke forward Wendell Carter Jr., Virginia guard Kyle Guy, Notre Dame guard Matt Farrell and Clemson’s Marcquise Reed.
The 2018 AP All-ACC team, with players listed alphabetically with name, school, height, weight, class and hometown (”u-” denotes unanimous selections):
u-Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 6-11, 234, Fr., Phoenix
Joel Berry II, North Carolina, 6-0, 195, Sr., Apopka, Florida
Devon Hall, Virginia, 6-5, 211, Sr., Virginia Beach, Virginia
Luke Maye, North Carolina, 6-8, 240, Jr., Huntersville, North Carolina
Jerome Robinson, Boston College, 6-6, 191, Jr., Raleigh, North Carolina
Tyus Battle, Syracuse, 6-6, 205, Soph., Edison, New Jersey
Wendell Carter Jr., Duke, 6-10, 259, Fr., Atlanta
Matt Farrell, Notre Dame, 6-1, 175, Sr., Bridgewater, New Jersey
Kyle Guy, Virginia, 6-2, 175, Soph., Indianapolis
Marcquise Reed, Clemson, 6-3, 189, Jr., Landover, Maryland
Coach of the year — Tony Bennett, Virginia
Player of the year — Marvin Bagley III, Duke
Newcomer of the year — u-Marvin Bagley III, Duke

Email newsletter signup