Chapman, Staten to play in Ohio vs. West Virginia All-Star game

Published 12:56 am Wednesday, March 21, 2018

Report Submitted

PARKERSBURG, W.Va. — The 17th Annual Battle Against Cystic Fibrosis Basketball Classic will take place on Friday, March 30, at Parkersburg South’s Rod Oldham Athletic Center.
The Ohio vs. West Virginia Girls All-Star game will start at 5:30 p.m. and the boys game follows at 7:30.
The Ohio Boys team, coached by River’s Mark Romick, is led by Division IV first team all-stater Lukas Isaly, who led the River Pilots to a runner-up finish in the district tournament this past season.
The 5-foot-11 guard has won numerous District Player of the Year honors and is a repeal All-Ohio first team selection.
He averaged 25 points, 6 assists, and 7.0 rebounds with 18 charges drawn in his senior season at River.  He holds the Pilots’ school records for points in a single game (51) and for career total points (2,178).
Other members of the Ohio boys team include:  Anthony Avendano (Marietta, 6-0 G); Carson Starlin (Miller, 5-10 G); Cody Hupp (River, 6-2 F); Dalton Cozart (Athens, 5-10 SG); Jake Speakman (Vinton County, 6-0 G); Josh Huffman (Warren, 6-5 C); Naylan Yates (Vinton County, 6-4 G); Randy Hixson (Trimble, 5’10 G); Shon Howell (Frontier, 6-5 F); Travis Pottmeyer (Waterford, 6-4 F); Trey Singleton (Meadowbrook, 6-0 G); Troy Huck (Warren, 6-0 G); Ty Staten (Fairland, 6-1 PG).
The West Virginia boys team, coached by Mick Price, will be led by a Class AAA all-state selection – Cole Plants.
Plants was Mr. Everything this year for Mike Fallon’s Parkersburg South Patriots.
He finished with 17.7 ppg scoring average, 6.3 rebounds, 2.2 assists, and 2.6 steals per game. He totaled 797 points as a two-year starter for the Patriots.
Other members of the WV boys team include: Chase Sullivan (Ritchie County, 6-3 G); Seth Dailey (Parkersburg, 6-0 G); Trenton Burdette (Wirt County, 6-0 G); Parker Miller (Parkersburg, 6-3 G); Matthew Cook (George Washington, 6-3 F); Jayden Rhodes (Ravenswood, 6-1 PG); Dylan Roberts (Tyler Consolidated, 5-10  G); Kerwyn Marshall (Parkersburg South, 6-3 G); Isaiah Morgan (Ravenswood, 6-2 F); Shane Snider (Parkersburg South, 6-3 F; Stephen Dawson (Ravenswood, 6-5 C); Justin Phillips (George Washington, 6-0 32); Alex Cook (Goerge Washington, 6-3 F); Trace Derenberger (Point Pleasant, 6-5 C).
The Ohio girls’ team, coached by Waterford’s Jerry Close, will be led by forward Alli Kern.
Kern was selected as the Ohio Division IV Player of the Year by the Associated Press.
A four-year starter with over 110 career wins, Kern finished her senior campaign with a 14.9 scoring average.  She also averaged 7.8 rebounds, 2.6 assists, and 3.3 steals.
Other members of the Ohio girls’ team include:  Camy Wiggins (Meadowbrook, 5-7 PG); Charlie Endly (Cambridge, 5-3 PG); Peyton Bowe (Warren, 5-9 G); Kate Liston (Warren, 5-9 F);  Kylie Daugherty (Frontier, 5-10 G); Taylar Wilson (Fairland, 6-1 F); Julia Griffith (Caldwell, 5-9 G); Emily Chapman (Fairland, 5-5 PG); Emily Jackson (Warren, 5-9 F); Hannah Duff (Waterford, 5-4 PG); Hayley Duff (Waterford, 5-6 F); Megan Ball (Waterford, 5-11 F).
The West Virginia girls team, coached by Parkersburg South’s Ed Davis, is led by Parkersburg South’s all-state guard Devin Hefner.
Hefner averaged 18.2 points per game and finished her South career with 941 total points, ranking her 11th in the all-time scoring leaders at Parkersburg South.
Hefner also contributed 5.5 rebounds, 2.2 assists, 2.1 steals, and finished with an 84 percent career free-throw shooting mark (best in school history).
Other members of the WV girls’ team include: Lexi Miller (Ripley, 5-7 G); Cassie Tallman (Ritchie County, 5-0 G); Bayley Wellings (Gilmer County, 5-0 G); Amanda Reynolds (Tyler Consolidated, 5-7 F); Ali Westenhaver (Ravenswood, 5-11 C); Bethany Wager (Williamstown, 5-6 G); Jaden McDaniels (St. Albans, 5-5 G); Lucille Westfall (Roane County, 5-11 F); Allie Taylor (Parkersburg South, 5-9 F); Allyssa Wilson (Parkersburg South, 5-8 G); Hanna McClung (Buckhannon-Upshur, 5-5 PG); Lauren Bennett (Buckhannon-Upshur; Mary Rogoszewski (Hurricane, 5-9 G).

Email newsletter signup