Students receive award from Trump

Published 8:25 am Tuesday, May 29, 2018

Honor requires high GPA, classroom achievement

ROME TOWNSHIP — Fairland West Elementary School principal Teresa Johnson is pleased to announce that 51 fifth grade students were presented with the President’s Educational Excellence Award on Tuesday, May 22.

This award recognizes academic success in the classroom. To be eligible, students must meet the requirements of a cumulative 3.5 grade point average or higher in their fourth and fifth grade years, and also score high achievement in reading or math on Ohio’s state tests.

Johnson read a letter of congratulations from President Donald Trump. The students received a copy of the president’s letter and a gold-embossed certificate signed by Trump.

Email newsletter signup

Also, the students received the Educational Excellence lapel pin.

U.S. Sec. of Education Betsy Devos sent a message to Johnson.

“The President’s Education Awards Program was founded in 1983,” the message read. “Every year since then, the program has recognized students who meet high standards of academic excellence. I am honored to join the President, your community and your school in recognizing you with the 2018 award. Education is a lifelong process of learning and discovery that offers unlimited rewards for those who thirst for knowledge and are willing to work hard. I commend you for your academic achievement and hope your will continue to pursue your educational goals.”

The awards were presented to the following students by their fifth grade homeroom teachers: Mrs. Sullivan — Emily Board, Will Callicoat, Isabella James, Angela Li, Jordan Spencer, Ethan Stewart, Katherine Swolsky, Jayden Wilder and Grayson Woodcock; Mrs. Heather Black — Madelynn Adkins, Luke Brown, Brody Buchanan, Hannah Gilpin, Evan King, Katherine Minor, Marlana Petry, Brinkley Spears and Marli Speed; Mrs. Staggs — Gabriel Polcyn, Morgan Butcher, Alexis Chinn, Ethan Wall, Damien Price, Gracie Rogers, Chloe Mayo, Ean Hernandez, Isa Taliaferro, Emily Riggio, Lindsey Thompson and Quentin Cremeans; Miss Dillon — Nolan Bennett, Chad “C. J.” Graham, Shane Rowe, Ally Shepherd, Haley Shrout, Andrew Smith, Emma Turnbull, MacKenzie Waugh, Maci Workman, Lauren Watts — Ms. Thompson: Owen Baker, Gavin Ballard, Annika Elam, Cali Ellis, Joelie Jarrell, John Jarrell, Isabella Murphy, Jeffrey Row, Brody Seals, Alexander Spence and Eliza Wilson.