Rock Hill’s OVC track title ended 41-year drought

Published 10:46 pm Friday, June 1, 2018

Jim Walker

PEDRO — Excuse coach Todd Knipp if he doesn’t remember much about the last Rock Hill Redmen Ohio Valley Conference track championship.
He was only two years old.
After winning four straight OVC titles in the 1970s, the Redmen went 41 years before being able to hoist the conference championship trophy again.
Knipp said there was no rallying cry or extra emphasis placed on winning the title this season. In fact, he said the drought in history wasn’t really an issue.
“The realization was mostly after the fact,” said Knipp. “We kind of knew early in the year we could be pretty good.
“We weren’t sure how everything would unfold. If we could stay healthy we had a shot at the end (of the season).”
Rock Hill had 144 points during the May 12 meet. Portsmouth was the runner-up with 121.
The Redmen used their depth to win the meet. They had only four first-place finishes among the 17 events.
“We had a great group of kids. They really stepped up and performed. It was the first year we had some depth where we could move some kids around and fill every event and compete at a high level.
First place finishes make the athletes all-conference.
Rock Hill’s event winners included T.J. McGinnis in the discus with a toss of 149-2, Victor Aguilera in the 800 meters at 2:06, Jasson Aguilera ran a 10:42.89 to win the 3200 and the 4×800 relay team of Ethan Miller, Eli Baker and the Aguilera brothers took first place with an 8:44.93 time.
Knipp said the team not only had talent but some intangibles as well.
“It was a god group of kids. They policed themselves. They pushed each other to work hard. Whether it was a senior or a freshman, they would all kind of equally get on each other so they performed at their best,” said Knipp.
Members of the team were:
Logan Boggs, Blake Waller, Josh Howard, Evan Cremeans and Jasson Aguilera, Dave Bailey, Corey Shope, Eli Baker, Gabe Kidd, Victor Aguilera, Tristan Delong, Brady Bramlett, Andrew Cochran, Ethan Miller, James Knipp, P.J. McGinnis, Parker Knipp, Noah Roberts, Jason Johnson, Michael Knipp, Noah Wood, Cameron Donohue, Cameron Barnette, Tyler Cochran and Seth Baker.

Email newsletter signup