OHSAA release highlights from board of directors’ meeting

Published 11:19 pm Thursday, June 7, 2018

Tim Stried
OHSAA Director of Communications

COLUMBUS – The Ohio High School Athletic Association Board of Directors held its regularly scheduled June meeting Wednesday afternoon at the OHSAA office.
The following are highlights from the meeting. Complete meeting minutes will be posted at OHSAA.org.
• By a 9-0 vote, the board approved the 2018 football tournament regulations, which include the new playoff regions, schedule and format. The new divisional assignments were announced in January.
The board also approved by a 9-0 vote the OHSAA Executive Director’s Office to complete the contract with Visit Canton and the Pro Football Hall of Fame to host the 2018 football state championships.
• The board received the attendance and financial reports from the 2018 state tournaments in girls and boys basketball, bowling, gymnastics and ice hockey.
In boys basketball, the total paid attendance was 89,442, down from 100,392 in 2017.
The total paid attendances in girls basketball (29,884), bowling (2,826), gymnastics (1,360) and ice hockey (3,507) were nearly the same as 2017.
• Since the board’s last meeting, 10 member schools were penalized for committing infractions of OHSAA bylaws or sports regulations.
• The board reviewed the results of the May referendum voting results. Details are at: https://bit.ly/2xYhbwn
• The board reviewed the results of the District Athletic Board elections. Details are at: http://ohsaa.org/about/districtboards
• New board of directors members for 2018-19 will begin their two-year terms on August 1 and include Jeff Cassella, Athletic Administrator at Mentor High School, Dan Leffingwell, Superintendent of Noble Local Schools (Sarahsville), Leonard Steyer, principal of Chillicothe Southeastern High School, and Jan Wilking, Athletic Administrator at Cincinnati Wyoming High School.
Outgoing board members include board vice-president Rhonda Rickelman, Director of Auxiliary Planning at Gates Mills Gilmour Academy, Walt Skaggs, Superintendent of St. Clairsville-Richland City Schools, Tony Deem, Superintendent of Southern Local Schools (Racine) and board president Paul Powers, Athletic Administrator at Aurora High School.

Email newsletter signup