Many helped to make 150th parade a success

Published 7:58 am Thursday, June 28, 2018

It’s been nearly a month since the 2018 Ironton-Lawrence County Memorial Day Parade, and now the Parade Committee has turned forward to next year for the 151st installment of the Nation’s oldest continuously held Memorial Day Parade.

I would like to commend this year’s Honorary Grand Marshal, Roy Ratliff, Grand Marshal, Brent Pyles, Parade Commander, Rich Donohue, all division commanders, committee chairpersons and all of the committee members for a job well done.

This year’s parade was a success, in great part, because of the many donors and volunteers that shared their time and resources. My sincere thanks to the mayor and the City of Ironton, Lawrence County Commissioners, Dave Lucas Communications, The Ironton Tribune, Woodland Cemetery, American Legion 7th District, Mike Phelps, Ironton Cooperative Club, Ironton Lions Club, A Touch of Grace, Thomas Walden Insurance Agency, Liberty Bank, Scherer-Mountain Insurance, Unger Shoe Store, Buckeye Monument Company, Anderson Anderson LPA, Citizens Deposit Bank, Loyal Order of Moose Lodge #701, PDI of Ironton, Sharon Hager – Lawrence County Recorder, SOARES Communications, From RAX to Rich’s, Central Hardware, Dean Robinson, Stephen and Son Insurance Agency, Yvonne DeKay School of Dance, Bill Nenni, Carl Bailey, 180FW/OH Air National Guard, St. Lawrence Elementary School, Cyndi’s Studio, Island Heat, Friends of Ironton – Patriot’s Ball, Richard and Debra Blair, and many others too numerous to list.

Email newsletter signup

Also, I would like to thank the Blue Knights KY VIII, Collins Career Center, STAR Community Justice Center, Veteran Volunteers, Fields Excavating, Upper Township VFD, Trembly and Associates, Holiday Inn Express of Ironton and the anonymous sponsor of the event for your support of the Vietnam Combat Veterans – The Moving Wall.

Our community has much to be proud of and this parade plays an important role in the continuation of that pride and heritage.

Lou Pyles
ILCMDP Committee Member