Dragons win OVC golf championship

Published 1:04 am Saturday, September 22, 2018

Jim Walker

McDERMOTT — Second verse, same as the first.
The Fairland Dragons outshot the Gallipolis Blue Devils last season to win the Ohio Valley Conference golf championship.
Led by tournament medalist Clayton Thomas, the Dragons finished ahead of the runner-up Blue Devils on Friday to win a second straight OVC golf championship at the Portsmouth Elks Golf Club.
Fairland had a 337 team score to finish 37 strokes ahead of Gallipolis. Last year, Fairland beat Gallipolis by six shots.
The Chesapeake Panthers were third at 383, one shot ahead of the Portsmouth Trojans.
The Coal Grove Hornets were next at 387 followed by the South Point Pointers at 455.
Thomas shot a 77 to take medalist honors by one shot over Portsmouth’s William Sturgill.
The Dragons’ Reece Belville was third with an 80 followed by Jake Sites (83) and Jed Whitworth (86) of Coal Grove, Gallipolis’ Cooper Davis 87, Chesapeake’s Jacob Lemley 88, Gallipolis’ Hobie Graham 91, and Ironton’s Brayden Easterling and Portsmouth Katelyn Pertuset both shot a 93 to complete the All-OVC team.
Ohio Valley Conference
Golf Tournament
Team Scores
Fairland 337
Gallipolis 374
Chesapeake 383
Portsmouth 384
Coal Grove 387
South Point 455
Individual Results
Clayton Thomas*, Fairland 38-39=77
William Sturgill*, Portsmouth 39-39=78
Reece Bellville*, Fairland 39-41=80
Jake Sites*, Coal Grove 44-39=83
Jed Whitworth*, Coal Grove 44-42=86
Cooper Davis*, Gallipolis 43-44=87
Jacob Lemley*, Chesapeake 44-44=88
Hobie Graham*, Gallipolis 43-48=91
Brayden Easterling*, Ironton 44-49=93
Katelyn Pertuset*, Portsmouth 49-44=93
Austin Jackson, Chesapeake 52-44=96
Mikhail Auxier, Fairland 50-46=96
Alex Rogers, Fairland 46-50=96
Mason Manns, Fairland 52-45=97
Wyatt Sipple, Gallipolis 51-46=97
Ben Walls, South Point 55-42=97
Jackson Stephens, Chesapeake 49-49=98
Reece Thomas, Gallipolis 50-49=99
Christian Hall, Chesapeake 53-48=101
Jack Workman, Portsmouth 53-52=105
Brayden Sexton, South Point 49-58=107
Landen Johnson, Coal Grove 57-51=108
Daewin Spence, Portsmouth 49-59=108
Jackson McComas, Chesapeake 55-55=110
Brayden Dillow, Coal Grove 54-56=110
Aiden Donges, Portsmouth 55-55=110
Drey Osborne, Ironton 53-60=113
William Hendrickson, Gallipolis 57-59=116
Ethan Taylor, Chesapeake 58-60=118
Elijah Blazer, Gallipolis 56-64=120
Wyatt Thacker, South Point 60-61=121
Trevor Carey, Coal Grove 56-66=122
Logan Price, Ironton 63-60=123
Kaleb Wilson, South Point 60-70=130
Brayden Adkins, South Point 65-71=136
• Top nine finishers are All-OVC

Email newsletter signup