Chargers lead Pro Bowl selections with 7 players

Published 8:34 pm Tuesday, December 18, 2018

NEW YORK (AP) — The Los Angeles Chargers placed seven players in the Pro Bowl, including safety Derwin James, one of six rookies across the league to make the game.
James, a first-round draft choice, will be joined on the AFC squad by veteran quarterback Philip Rivers, wide receiver Keenan Allen, running back Melvin Gordon, defensive end Melvin Ingram, center Mike Pouncey and special-teamer Adrian Phillips for the game, which will be played Jan. 27 in Orlando. James and Phillips are the only starters, though.
Rivers is a backup to Kansas City’s Patrick Mahomes, one of 29 first-time Pro Bowlers. That, of course, includes all the rookies: James, Giants running back Saquon Barkley, Seahawks punter Michael Dickson, Broncos running back Phillip Lindsay, Indianapolis guard Quenton Nelson and Cleveland cornerback Denzel Wads. Lindsay is an undrafted player.
New England’s Tom Brady is the other AFC quarterback. Noticeably missing is the Colts’ Andrew Luck.
New Orleans, led by quarterback Drew Brees, Dallas and Chicago paced the NFC with five players each. Brees is the starter, backed up by Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers and the Rams’ Jared Goff.
Buffalo, Oakland and Tampa Bay had no Pro Bowl selections.
Pittsburgh and Kansas City each had six players chosen, including such first-timers as Steelers running back James Conner and Mahomes, both having breakthrough years.
Cleveland has a first overall draft choice in the game — not Baker Mayfield, but 2017 top pick Myles Garrett at defensive end.
“Football is a team game and you can’t do it on your own,” said Garrett, who leads the Browns with 12 1/2 sacks. “I’m happy to be able to share this experience with Denzel because this honor is really a testament to our entire defense.”
Among the perennial AFC choices returning to the game are Houston DE J.J. Watt, Pittsburgh WR Antonio Brown, Baltimore guard Marshal Yanda and safety Eric Weddle, Cincinnati DT Geno Atkins and Denver LB Von Miller.
For the NFC, frequent repeaters include Atlanta WR Julio Jones and C Alex Mack, Dallas tackle Tyron Smith, inside LBs Luke Kuechly of Carolina and Bobby Wagner of Seattle, Arizona CB Patrick Peterson, Rams DT Aaron Donald and Bears LB Khalil Mack.
There will be a brother combination at center for the AFC as Maurkice Pouncey of Pittsburgh is the starter ahead of Mike Pouncey.
The Jets, despite a 4-10 record, have three Pro Bowlers in safety Jamal Adams, kicker Jason Myers and return specialist Andre Roberts — all first-timers.
Pro Bowl coaching staffs will be from the losing teams in the AFC and NFC divisional playoffs with the best regular-season records. Each player on the winning Pro Bowl team receives $67,000, while each player on the losing squad earns $34,000.

Pro Bowl
2019 Pro Bowl Rosters
To Be Held: Sunday, Jan. 27
At Camping World Stadium
Orlando, Fla.
(x-denotes starter)
Quarterbacks: Tom Brady, New England; x-Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City; Philip Rivers, L.A. Chargers
Tight ends: Eric Ebron, Indianapolis; x-Travis Kelce, Kansas City
Wide Receivers: Keenan Allen, L.A. Chargers ; Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh; x-Tyreek Hill, Kansas City: x-DeAndre Hopkins, Houston.
Tackles: Eric Fisher, Kansas City; x-Taylor Lewan, Tennessee; x-Alejandro Villanueva, Pittsburgh
Guards: x-David DeCastro, Pittsburgh; Quenton Nelson, Indianapolis; x-Marshal Yanda, Baltimore
Running Backs: x-James Conner, Pittsburgh, Melvin Gordon, L.A. Chargers; Phillip Lindsay, Denver.
Centers: x-Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh; Mike Pouncey, L.A. Chargers
Defensive Ends: x-Myles Garrett, Cleveland; Melvin Ingram, L.A. Chargers; x-J.J. Watt, Houston
Inside/Middle Linebackers: Benardrick McKinney, Houston; x-C.J. Mosley, Baltimore
Interior Lineman: x-Geno Atkins, Cincinnati; x-Jurrell Casey; Tennessee; Cameron Heyward, Pittsburgh
Cornerbacks: Stephon Gilmore, New England; x-Xavien Howard, Miami; x-Jalen Ramsey, Jacksonville; Denzel Ward, Cleveland
Outside Linebackers: x-Jadeveon Clowney, Houston; Dee Ford, Kansas City; x-Von Miller, Denver
Free Safeties: X-Derwin James, L.A. Chargers; Eric Weddle, Baltimore
Strong Safety: x-Jamal Adams, N.Y. Jets
Punter: x-Brett Kern, Tennessee
Placekicker: x-Jason Myers, N.Y. Jets
Return Specialist: x-Andre Roberts, N.Y. Jets
Special Teamer: x-Adrian Phillips, L.A. Chargers
Quarterbacks: x-Drew Brees, New Orleans; Jared Goff, L.A. Rams; Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay
Tight Ends: x-Zach Ertz, Philadelphia; George Kittle, San Francisco
Wide Receivers: Davante Adams, Green Bay; x-Julio Jones, Atlanta; Adam Thielen, Minnesota; x-Michael Thomas, New Orleans
Tackles: x-Terron Armstead, New Orleans; x-Tyron Smith, Dallas; Trent Williams, Washington
Guards: x-Brandon Brooks, Philadelphia; x-Zack Martin, Dallas; Trai Turner, Carolina
Running Backs: Saquon Barkley, N.Y. Giants; Ezekiel Elliott, Dallas; x-Todd Gurley, L.A. Rams
Centers: x-Alex Mack, Atlanta; Max Under; New Orleans
Fullback: x-Kyle Juszczyk, San Francisco
Defensive Ends: Danielle Hunter, Minnesota; x-Cameron Jordan, New Orleans; x-Demarcus Lawrence, Dallas
Inside/Middle Linebackers: x-Luke Kuechly, Carolina; Bobby Wagner, Seattle
Interior Lineman: x-Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia; x-Aaron Donald, L.A. Rams; Akiem Hicks, Chicago
Cornerbacks: x-Kyle Fuller, Chicago; Byron Jones, Dallas; x-Patrick Peterson, Arizona; Darius Slay, Detroit
Outside Linebackers: Anthony Barr, Minnesota; x-Ryan Kerrigan, Washington; x-Khalil Mack, Chicago
Free Safeties: x-Eddie Jackson, Chicago; Harrison Smith, Minnesota
Strong Safety: Landon Collins, N.Y. Giants
Punter: x-Michael Dickson, Seattle
Placekicker: x-Aldrick Rosas, N.Y. Giants
Return Specialist: x-Tarik Cohen, Chicago
Special Teamer: x-Cory Littleton, L.A. Rams

Email newsletter signup