House picks Smith for 2nd time as speaker

Published 8:43 am Monday, December 31, 2018

COLUMBUS — On Friday, a majority of Ohio House Republican members selected their leadership team for the 133rd General Assembly. Current Speaker of the Ohio House, Ryan Smith, R-93, was again selected by his legislative peers to serve as Speaker.

“I’m incredibly proud of the work this caucus has accomplished since I was elected Speaker earlier this year, and I have every confidence that members will continue to work together to make Ohio communities stronger,” Smith said in a statement. “It is truly humbling to be selected again by my legislative colleagues to serve as Speaker, and it is an honor to lead this caucus going into the 133rd General Assembly. We have a lot of work to do, and I’m ready to hit the ground running on Jan 7.”

Additionally, State Rep. Rick Carfagna will serve as Speaker Pro Tempore, Rep. Bill Seitz will continue to serve as the Majority Floor Leader, and Rep. Sarah LaTourette will continue to serve as Assistant Majority Floor Leader. The House Republican Whip team will again include Rep. Tom Patton as the Majority Whip and Rep. Bill Reineke as the  Assistant Majority Whip.

Email newsletter signup

The official swearing in of new members and leadership positions will occur on Monday, Jan. 7 during opening day ceremonies in Columbus.