McKinley’s Bell wins 3rd Ms. Basketball award

Published 12:33 am Friday, March 15, 2019

COLUMBUS, Ohio – Becoming the first three-time recipient of the Ohio Ms. Basketball award, Canton McKinley High School senior Kierstan Bell has joined LeBron James as the only three-time winners of Ohio’s top high school basketball award.
A statewide media panel from the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association announced the selection Thursday on the eve of the girls’ state basketball tournament.
James was Ohio’s Mr. Basketball from 2001-03 while at Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary.
Bell led McKinley to a 25-2 record this season and the regional championship game by averaging 27.0 points, 7.9 rebounds, 4.4 blocks, 3.8 steals and 3.0 assists.
She finished her career with 2,833 points, passing Ohio legends Katie Smith and Semeka Randall on the state’s career scoring list in recent weeks. Bell’s point total is fourth in OHSAA history.
Canton McKinley went 93-14 with three district titles and one regional title with Bell.
Other finalists for the Ms. Basketball Award included Constance Chaplin from Euclid, Jacy Sheldon from Dublin Coffman, Jordan Horston from Columbus Africentric, Sammie Puisis from Mason, Lauren Flannery from Hannibal River, Peyton Scott from Lynchburg Clay and Zia Cooke, Toledo Rogers.

Email newsletter signup