OHSAA announces football division 2019 assignments

Published 12:06 am Wednesday, June 5, 2019

Jim Walker

COLUMBUS — There is always some yo-yoing when it comes to division assignments, and this year is no different.
The Ohio High School Athletic Association announced the football division assignments for the upcoming season and there were plenty of teams moving up and down based on their enrollment numbers.
Several schools are moving into Division V where defending Div. VI state champion Kirtland is moving up to D5.
Still in Div. V is Canton Central Catholic who won the Div. V state title in 2016.
Others moving into the division include Meigs, Zane Trace, Westfall, Barnesville, Lima Bath, Tipp City Bethel, Conneaut, Fairview Park, Sugarcreek Garaway, Cadiz Harrison Central, Jefferson Area, Kansas Lakota, Findlay Liberty-Benton, Dayton Meadowdale, McConnelsville Morgan, Northwood, Rootstown, Springfield Shawnee, Ravenna, Cincinnati Taft, Atwater Waterloo, West Liberty-Salem and Bucyrus Wynford.
Some of the division changes will affect which region a school will be assigned.
The Fairland Dragons made a drastic drop in numbers from last year and move down from Div. IV to V. Fairland’s male enrollment last year for the top three grades was 213 but is listed as 152 this year and 160 with competitive balance adjustments.
The Ironton Fighting Tigers were a playoff team last season and remain in Div. V with an enrollment of 160 males and a competitive balance of 179.
The Chesapeake Panthers are listed at 191 boys and a 201 figure for competitive balance total.
The Rock Hill Redmen are at 156 with a 165 CB total, the South Point Pointers 176 males and just two more for their CB.
Other area teams who will be in D5 are Minford at 179 and 187, Northwest 174 and 176, Oak Hill 162 and 172, Portsmouth 161 and 167, Portsmouth West 190 and 192, River Valley 195 and 203, Wellston 166 and 173 and Wheelersburg 158 and 186 as the Pirates have 28 listed on their competitive balance, the largest among public schools.
The Coal Grove Hornets will remain in Div. VI with 127 boys and a 140 total for competitive balance.
Local teams in Div. VI are Lucasville Valley, Southeastern, Paint Valley, Nelsonville-York, Chillicothe Huntington, Federal Hocking, Fort Frye, Crooksville, Adena and Belpre.
Teams moving into Div. VI are Glouster Trimble, Anna, Archbold, Sullivan Black River, Bucyrus, Dalton, East Palestine, Fredericktown, Jamestown Greenview, Cincinnati Montessori, Leavittsburg Labrae, Liberty Center, Mapleton, Minster, Johnstown Northridge, Rittman, Mt. Blanchard Riverdale, North Lewisburg Triad, Tuscarawas Valley and Van Buren.
The Symmes Valley Vikings and Green Bobcats are again in Division VI.
The Vikings’ male enrollment is 105 and the competitive balance 115. Green’s numbers are 78 and 83.
Other area schools in Div. VII are Portsmouth Notre Dame, Sciotoville East, South Gallia, Beaver Eastern (down from D6), Reedsville Eastern, Manchester, Racine Southern and Corning Miller.
Dropping down to Div. VII are Bridgeport, Oregon Cardinal Stritch Catholic, Steubenville Catholic, Independence, Maria Stein Marion Local, McDonald, Newark Catholic, Lima Perry, Shadyside, Sarahsville Shenandoah, St. Bernard, Tri-County North and West Alexandria Twin Valley South.
2019 Key Dates
Aug. 1 First Day of Coaching
Aug. 9-24 Scrimmage Dates
Aug. 26 Regular-Season Begins (First Friday is August 30)
Sept. 24 First Weekly Computer Points Released
Nov. 2 Regular-Season Ends
Nov. 3 Final Computer Points and Playoff Qualifiers Announced
Nov. 8-9 Regional Quarterfinals
Nov. 15-16 Regional Semifinals
Nov. 22-23 Regional Finals
Nov. 28 Thanksgiving
Nov. 29-30 State Semifinals
Dec. 5-7 State Championships in Canton

Email newsletter signup