OHSAA announces regional football assignments

Published 12:26 am Friday, June 14, 2019

Jim Walker

OK, here’s what you’re up against.
The Ohio High School Athletic Association announced regional assignments for each division for the 2019 football season.
Several teams will be on the move to familiar regional competition while others will be seeing a lot of new faces on the weekly computer ratings list.
The top eight teams in each region qualify for the postseason playoffs. First round home games are awarded to the top four teams in each region.
Division 5 Region 19 will have Ironton, Rock Hill, Chesapeake, South Point and Fairland locally.
Other teams include: Alexander, Amanda Clearcreek, Columbus Academy, Coshocton, Johnstown Monroe, Liberty Union, Meigs, Minford, McConnelsville Morgan, Northwest, Oak Hill, Portsmouth, Portsmouth West, River Valley, Wellston, West Lafayette Ridgewood, Columbus Bishop Ready, Westfall, Zane Trace and West Muskingum.
The shifting of teams to different divisions and regions is most evident with Coal Grove who will be among a lot of new faces in Region 24 of Division 6 instead of Region 23.
The region is comprised of Adena, Cincinnati Country Day, Covington, Dayton Christian, Cincinnati Deer Park, New Lebanon Dixie, Milford Center Fairbanks, Fayetteville-Perry, Columbus Grandview Heights, Jamestown Greenview, Chillicothe Huntington Ross, Cincinnati Montessori, Mechanicsburg, New Paris National Trail, Paint Valley, Springfield Northeastern, Chillicothe Southeastern, Troy Christian, Lucasville Valley, Williamsburg and Worthington Christian.
Symmes Valley and Green will remain in Region 27 of Division 7.
The region will become comprised of Portsmouth Notre Dame, Sciotoville East, Beaver Eastern, Beallsville, Berne Union, Zanesville Bishop Rosecrans, Bridgeport, Caldwell, Reedsville Eastern, Lancaster Fairfield Christian, Lancaster Fisher Catholic, New Matamoras Frontier, Grove City Christian, Canal Winchester Harvest Prep, Manchester, Corning Miller, Millersport, Woodsfield Monroe, Newark Catholic, Hannibal River, Shadyside, Sarahsville Shenandoah, Racine Southern, South Gallia and Waterford.
The playoffs begin on Friday, Nov. 8, with divisions 4, 5 and 7 with divisions 1,2, 3, and 6 on Saturday, Nov. 9.
The state championship games will be held Dec. 5-8 in Canton at Fawcett Stadium. The schedule for each division will be announced at a later date.

Email newsletter signup