• 54°

Mayors, council up for election: Township trustees, school boards also on ballot

Once this weekend’s Labor Day holiday is out of the way, the traditional campaign season for the general election kicks off.

While the election on Nov. 5 will not feature any federal, state or countywide offices, voters will be determining the leadership at the municipal level, with several mayors and councils on the ballot. In addition, township trustees, fiscal officers and school board members will be selected by voters.

In Ironton, incumbent Mayor Katrina Keith will be seeking a second term. She will face off against Sam Cramblit II. Five will be vying for three seats on city council, with incumbents Chuck O’Leary and Jim Tordiff  facing Chris Haney, Mike Pierce and Jacob Hock on the ballot.

In South Point, Mayor Jeff Gaskin will also ask voters for a second term. He faces village worker Fred Craft on the ballot. Three will be seeking two seats on the village council, with incumbents Michael Lynd and Chuck Austin facing Brad Adkins on the ballot.

In Chesapeake, another mayor is running for a second term in office, with incumbent Tommy Templeton facing off against Michael Ferguson and Kimberly Oldaker. Oldaker had initially filed for council, but switched to the mayor’s race. Two council seats will be on the ballot, with incumbents Kenny Wolfe, who serves as mayor pro tempore, and Randy Penix running against former council member Paul Hart, who is seeking a return to office.

In Proctorville, incumbent Mayor Rick Dunfee is seeking re-election, and is challenged on the ballot by Jerry Thompson. Dale Burcham and Bill Elliott are running unopposed for the two council seats on the ballot. Clerk-treasurer Darrell Legg is unopposed in the election.

It will be a change of leadership in Coal Grove, where incumbent Mayor Larry McDaniel will not be running again and Gary Sherman and Andy Holmes will be seeking that office. Facing off for village council will be Brandon Bazell, Gregory Massie, Denise Paulus and Robin Heaberlin.

In other mayor’s races, Jason Chapman and Roger Camp will seek the position in Athalia, while incumbent Mayor Chris Davidson is unopposed in Hanging Rock. Council races in those villages have no challengers, with William Ward running in Athalia and Kimberly Chinn on the ballot in Hanging Rock. Clerk-treasurer Carole Goldcamp is unopposed in Hanging Rock.

In addition, voters in Aid, Decatur, Elizabeth, Fayette, Hamilton, Lawrence, Mason, Perry, Rome, Symmes, Union, Upper, Washington and Windsor townships will be selecting trustees and fiscal officers, while all seven of the county’s school districts and the Lawrence County Educational Services Center will have board members on the ballot.

The Ironton Tribune plans full coverage of the fall campaign, with candidate forums in the works for multiple races. For a list of levies on the fall ballot, see next week’s edition of The Ironton Tribune.