• 64°

Cramblit wins Ironton mayor’s race in a landslide

Staff Report


There will be a change in Ironton political office holders.

Challenger Sam Cramblit II won a decisive victory over incumbent Katrina Keith for Ironton mayor on Tuesday.

Cramblit had 2,055 votes to just 816 for Keith. There was a total of 2,871 ballots cast in the race.

There will be three new city council members as Chris Haney, Jacob Hock and Mike Pierce were all elected for the first time.

Haney led the voting with 2,226 with Hock 1,870 and Pierce 1,695.

Incumbents Chuck O’Leary (895 votes) and Jim Tordiff (821) were the only council members seeking re-election.

The new political leaders of Ironton will have to deal with city funding after the proposed Municipal Income Tax was overwhelmingly defeated 2,172 to 701.

Election results were held up on Tuesday night due to a computer bug in the new voting machines. These are the unofficial results.

In the Village of Coal Grove, Gary Sherman won the mayor’s race with 400 votes with Andy Holmes getting 315.

Denise Paulus with 367 votes and Robin Heaberlin with 321 won the two open seats.

Gregory Massie had 289 votes, Brandon Bazell 276.

Jeff Gaskin was an easy winner of Fred Craft for South Point mayor. Gaskin had 836 votes to 248 for Craft.

In the South Point Village Council race, Chuck Austin led the voting with 839 and Michael Lynd won the other seat with 564 votes. Brad Adkins got 519 votes.

Richard Dunfee defeated Jerry Thompson 80-to-32 in the Proctorville Village mayor race.

In Hanging Rock, Chris Davidson was unopposed and got 46 votes to win the mayor’s race and Carole Goldcamp had 47 votes as she was unopposed in the clerk-treasurer race.

A runoff election will be needed for the Village of Chesapeake mayor after Tommy Templeton and Kimberly Oldaker each got 77 votes. Michael Ferguson received 39 votes.

In the Chesapeake council race, Paul Hart had 128 votes and Kenneth Wolfe 110 to win the two available seats. Randy Penix got 65 votes.

The Board of DD tax levy was beaten 6,950 to 6,596.

Passing were the Upper Township Tax Levy Fire 342 to 148, the Lawrence Township Tax Levy Fire 546 to 206, the Village of Athalia Tax Levy Fire 64 to 29 and the Chesapeake Village Tax Fire Levy 120 to 70.

In school board races, there were two contested races.

Jessica A. Bryant with 1,086 votes and Rebecca Gannon with 917 won the two seats open for the Dawson-Bryant schools.  Jim Beals got 674 votes and Dan Wilson 391.

For Fairland’s district, Jason Gorby had 1,105 votes and John P. Lewis 999 to win the two available seats. Jeff Bennett had 996 votes and Linda Gail Holst had 827.

Getting the two seats for the South Point district were Stacey Thacker with 1,367 votes and Jack Nuckols with 1,329. Natalie Adams ahd 1,290 votes and Tifanie Arbogast 984.

In the Symmes Valley district, five candidates battled for two open seats with Adam Corn (578) and Timmy Hayes (536) the top two vote getters.

Hope Rowe got 486 votes, S. Kent Wells 375 and Allen Cook 196.

T.J. Parnell had 2,242 votes, Mark Fields 1894 and Michael Wirzfeld 1,627 as all three were elected to the Ironton City School Board. There were no other candidates.

It was the same situation for the Rock Hill School Board with three candidates for three seats. Elected to the board were Mark Harper with 1,330 votes, Amanda Knipp with 1,233 and Wanda Jenkins 1,067.