Carrico named Division 5 Defensive Player of the Year; Ironton lands 7 All-Ohio

Published 1:53 am Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Jim Walker

Email newsletter signup

COLUMBUS — Reid Carrico has joined an elite group, not only with the All-Ohio teams but at Ironton High School.
The Ohio Prep Sports Writers Association announced the Division 4 and Division 5 All-Ohio football teams on Monday and Carrico was not only a first team selection at linebacker in Division 5, but he was also honored as the Defensive Player of the Year.
The 6-foot-3, 225-pound junior has already given a verbal commitment to play for the Ohio State. Buckeyes. Carrico was named to the All-Ohio team last season as a running back.
Carrico join a short but elite list of Ironton players who have earned state player of the year honors.
Ken Fritz was the 1975 Class AA Lineman of the Year, quarterback Mark Lutz was selected the Division 3 Offensive Player of the Year in 1988, running back Jermon Jackson was the Division 3 Offensive Player of the Year in 1993 and linebacker Redgie Arden was the Defensive Player of the Year in 2000.
The Offensive Player of the Year was shared by Gabe Jones of West Jefferson, Ethan Wright of Akron Manchester and Cameron Blair of Magnolia Sandy Valley.
Akron Manchester’s Jim France — Ohio’s all-time leader in career wins — was named the Coach of the Year.
Selections are based on the regular season.
Ironton had seven players named to the All-Ohio team. The Fighting Tigers are playing Kirtland at 8 p.m. Saturday in Canton for the Division 5 state championship.
Carrico was joined on the first team defense by senior Seth Fosson (6-1, 235) who was named All-Ohio for the third straight year.
Ironton landed two players on the All-Ohio second team offense with senior quarterback Gage Salyers (6-1, 205) and senior placekicker Avery Book (5-11, 180).
Senior defensive lineman Junior Jones (6-0, 240) was named to the All-Ohio third team.
Ironton senior offensive tackle Noah Davidson (6-5, 315) and junior linebacker Cameron Deere (5-11, 185) were both named special mention.
Other area players were also named to the All-Ohio team.
Named to the special mention list were Chesapeake Panthers’ senior running backs Kamren Harless (6-1, 165) and Will Todd (5-7, 150), Fairland Dragons’ senior running back Michael Stitt (5-8, 160), junior defensive lineman Jordan Williams (6-3, 186) and sophomore linebacker J.D. Brumfield (5-9, 190), Rock Hill Redmen senior offensive lineman Tucker Carpenter (6-4, 280) and senior defensive lineman T.J. McGinnis (6-2, 255), and South Point Pointers’ senior lineman Grant Gifford (6-2, 270).
Carrico anchored a defense that allowed only 62 points in the regular season and only two teams scored more than one touchdown.