13 to vie for U.S. Senate seat in Ohio, 6 for governor

Published 12:00 am Saturday, February 5, 2022

COLUMBUS (AP) — The crowded race for an open U.S. Senate seat in Ohio topped out at 13 candidates on Wednesday as the state closed the books on candidate entries for 2022.

Republican Gov. Mike DeWine also drew three primary challengers and Republican Secretary of State Frank LaRose drew two primary challengers.

The remaining statewide officeholders, all Republicans, face no same-party competition in May. The same is the case for two Ohio Supreme Court justices. Democrats are running unopposed in all races except governor and U.S. Senate.

Email newsletter signup

Here’s a look at who’s running, with major-party candidates listed in alphabetical order and incumbents noted:

U.S. Senate: Republicans Matt Dolan, Mike Gibbons, Bill Graham, Josh Mandel, Bernie Moreno, Neil Patel, Mark Pukita, Jane Timken, JD Vance; Democrats Morgan Harper, Traci Johnson, Tim Ryan, LaShondra Tinsley

Governor: Republicans Joe Blystone, Mike DeWine (incumbent), Ron Hood, Jim Renacci; Democrats John Cranley, Nan Whaley

Secretary of State: Republicans: John Adams, Frank LaRose (incumbent) Terpsehore Maras; Democrat Chelsea Clark

Attorney General: Democrat Jeff Crossman, Republican Dave Yost (incumbent)

Auditor: Republican Keith Faber (incumbent) Democrat Taylor Sappington

Treasurer: Democrat Scott Schertzer, Republican Robert Sprague (incumbent)

Chief Justice: Democrat Jennifer Brunner, Republican Sharon Kennedy

Justice: Republican Pat DeWine (incumbent), Democrat Marilyn Zayas; Republican Patrick Fischer (incumbent), Democrat Terri Jamison.