Marshall University extends lower rates to wider area in Ohio and Kentucky

Published 12:00 am Thursday, August 18, 2022

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. (AP) — Several dozen counties in Ohio and Kentucky have been added to the area where students receive reduced tuition rates at Marshall University.

The university’s board of governors expanded the metro tuition rate eligibility to cover a 100-mile radius from Huntington.

The rate already applied to bordering counties Gallia, Jackson, Lawrence, Meigs, Pike and Scioto of Ohio and Boyd, Carter, Elliott, Floyd, Greenup, Johnson, Lawrence, Martin and Pike of Kentucky.

Email newsletter signup

The new Ohio counties are Adams, Athens, Brown, Clermont, Clinton, Fairfield, Fayette, Highland, Hocking, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pickaway, Ross, Vinton and Washington. New Kentucky counties are Bath, Bourbon, Bracken, Breathitt, Clark, Clay, Estill, Fleming, Harrison, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lewis, Magoffin, Mason, Menifee, Montgomery, Morgan, Nicholas, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Powell, Robertson, Rowan and Wolfe.

The expansion goes into effect in the fall of 2023, the school said.

The metro rate is between the resident and nonresident tuition rates.