25 area players earn All-Ohio grid honors

Published 10:36 pm Tuesday, December 5, 2023

By Jim Walker


Email newsletter signup

This is a football team that had a little bit of everything, but the main thing this team features is talent.

The Ohio Prep Sports Writers announced the All-Ohio football teams for Divisions 5, 6 and 7 that included 25 local players.

Headlining the team are 3 first team selections that include Ironton Fighting Tigers’ senior lineman Noah Patterson and junior all-purpose standout Shaun Terry and Fairland Dragons senior quarterback Peyton Jackson.

The 6-foot-3, 285-pound Patterson was the Southeast District Lineman of the Year and has committed to play at Eastern Michigan.

The speedy Terry (5-10, 175) is a threat to score running or catching the ball as well as returning kicks. He has received more than a dozen Division I college offers.

Jackson (5-11, 180) was 155-of-219 passing for 2, 415 yards, 32 touchdowns and only 4 interceptions. Terry and Jackson were the district Co-Offensive Players of the Year.

Ironton junior lineman Aiden Layne (6-1, 240) was named to the second team as he was a standout on both sides of the ball.

Fairland senior wide receiver Brycen Hunt (6-1, 170) was named to the third team as he caught 52 passes for 915 yards and 16 TDs.

Named to the Division 5 All-Ohio team as an honorable mention selection were Ironton senior quarterback and defensive end Bailey Thacker (6-3, 210), junior wide receiver and quarterback Braden Schreck (6-2, 185), senior wide receiver and outside linebacker Aris Pittman (6-2, 190) and sophomore running back Zayne Williams (5-9, 200).

Selected All-Ohio honorable mention were Fairland senior defensive back Garrett Spence (6-1, 175), junior linebacker Quentin Cremeans (6-1, 215) and senior linebacker Ryan Dixon (6-1, 225).

South Point landed 3 on the All-Ohio honorable mention list that included senior running back Blaine Freeman (5-9, 190) and senior all-purpose back Eli Wilburn (5-10, 160) along with junior wide receiver Brayden Hanshaw (6-2, 175)

The Chesapeake Panthers had senior running back Camron Shockley (5-7, 145) and junior defensive back Drew Plantz (5-7, 140) named honorable mention All-Ohio.

There were 6 players named to the Division 6 All-Ohio honorable mention team.

Rock Hill landed senior running back and linebacker Levi Jiles (5-11, 190), junior running back and defensive back Anthony Stamper (5-10, 165) and sophomore two-way lineman Daniel Medinger (6-4, 285).

The Coal Grove Hornets also had 3 players named All-Ohio honorable mention that included senior lineman Brett Klaiber (6-3, 275), senior defensive back Devin Bloomfield (5-10,170) and sophomore running back Kaden Murphy (5-8, 165).

Name dot the Division 7 All-Ohio honorable mention list were Symmes Valley Vikings junior running back Will Jones (6-3, 175) and junior linebacker Caiden Mount (5-9, 195).