Herd’s Huff named to AFCA board of trustees

Published 7:28 pm Monday, March 25, 2024


Associate Athletic Director of Strategic Communications

HUNTINGTON, W.Va. –Marshall Football head coach Charles Huff has been named to the American Football Coaches Association’s Board of Trustees for the 2024 season.

Email newsletter signup

Huff was one of six coaches elected to the Board of Trustees in this cycle, joining Ohio’s Tim Albin, as well as Virginia’s Tony Elliott, Illinois’ Bret Bielema, Kansas State’s Chris Klieman and Oklahoma’s Brent Venables.

“I’m honored and humbled to be selected to the AFCA Board of Trustees,” Huff said. “It’s truly an honor any time you are selected by your peers in any profession, so to be selected as a young Head Coach in this profession is a good testament to what we’ve been able to do here for our players and our community.”

Huff and Albin are the lone representatives from their respective conferences.

Huff will serve as the Sun Belt Conference’s representative on the distinguished committee who leads an organization geared toward formulating policy and providing direction for the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA).

“The AFCA is excited about the addition of Tim Albin from Ohio University and Charles Huff from Marshall University as new Board of Trustees members from the MAC and Sun Belt,” said AFCA executive director Craig Bohl. “Also, being reflective of FBS conference expansion, the AFCA has added more board members for the Big Te, ACC, Big 12 and SEC, with the addition of Illinois’ Bret Bielema, Virginia’s Tony Elliott, Kansas State’s Chris Klieman and Oklahoma’s Brent Venables.”

Huff completed his third season at Marshall and has an overall record of 22-17. He has led the Thundering Herd to three straight bowl appearances, winning the Myrtle Beach Bowl after the 2022 season when Marshall went 9-4.

AFCA was founded in 1922 by Amos Alonzo Staff, John Heisman and others. The organization has been the keynote organization for college football coaches for more than 100 years. The leadership group of AFCA includes president Jeff McMartin of Central College, first vice president Bobby Hauck of Montana, second vice president Neal Brown of West Virginia and third vice president Jim Catanazaro of Lake Forest College.