Ironton Ranger District team receives Chief’s Honor Award

Published 12:00 am Monday, March 25, 2024

PEDRO — Employees from the Wayne National Forest’s Ironton Ranger District Center for Excellence were recently awarded Chief’s Honor Award for 2024. 

The team was recognized for the category of Reimagining Recreation by Engaging New and Diverse Audiences to Expand Social and Economic Benefits for the Public. 

The district hosted and mentored 10 interns representing a mix of adults, university students and high school youths. Team members Mathias Wallace, Dustin Mills, Nick Mossbarger, Robert Napier, Robert Webb, Roger Boggs, Glen Finley, Andrew Tremayne, Mike Buchanan, Taissae Medina-Sanchez, and Coby Salmon all contributed to the effort. 

Email newsletter signup

“The Ironton Ranger District Center for Excellence is an impressive example of the good that comes from a group of employees prioritizing diversity, equity, and inclusion,” said Eastern Regional Forester Tony Dixon.

The Chief’s Honor Award represents the highest achievement in the agency, and the recipients were chosen from across the nation for their outstanding accomplishments in meeting strategic goals.

“We’re very proud to see achievements from our region recognized at this level,” Dixon said. “Congratulations to all the awardees, and especially those from the Eastern Region.”