Ohio University Southern awards 128 degrees

Published 12:00 am Thursday, May 9, 2024

Ohio University Southern honored graduates from the Tri-State area at a Graduation Recognition Ceremony on Thursday.
The Spirit of Southern award, which recognizes a graduating student demonstrating not only academic success, but also distinction in involvement and contributions to the campus and community, was given to Madison Fry, who earned a Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood and Elementary Education.
In addition, 15 students were named Outstanding Graduates and were honored with a luncheon in the afternoon. Outstanding Graduates are nominated by faculty members and must demonstrate academic accomplishments and participation in university activities and community service.
This year’s Outstanding Graduates are:
• Leah Bailey – Bachelor of Science in Nursing
• Mary Brady – Associate in Applied Science, Human Services Technology
• Shelby Cornell – Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood and Elementary Education
• Kata Crizer – Bachelor of Arts, History
• Joey Cyrus – Bachelor of Criminal Justice
• Lauren Dunsmore – Associate in Science
• Robert Elkins – Bachelor of Social Work
• Kaitlyn Foster – Bachelor of Arts, Social Work
• Rylee Galloway – Bachelor of Science in Business, Business Studies
• Eli Lucas – Bachelor of Technical and Applied Studies
• Ragin Marcum – Bachelor of Science in Education, Middle and Childhood Language Arts and Social Studies
• Debbi Smith – Associate in Applied Science, Associate in Nursing
• Grant Stephens – Associate in Applied Science, Electronic Media
• Andrew Wright – Associate in Arts, Social Science Emphasis
Ohio University Southern alumnus Jeremy Clay received the Dr. Dan Evans Alumni Leadership Award, which is presented to Ohio University Southern graduates who are making a difference as leaders in the community.
All graduates are listed below alphabetically by state and city of residence:

CHESAPEAKE: Jim Hannahs, Sarah Ransbottom, Mickey Sanchez
COAL GROVE: Olivia Curd, Alicia Fraley, Ragin Marcum
CROWN CITY: Jessica Nance
FRANKLIN FURNACE: Angela Bocook, Lakin Hughes, Josiah Richendollar, Kylie Stapleton
IRONTON: Keilie Adams, Brooklynn Barnes, Anthony Bazel, Heather Birch, Mary Brady, Aidan Brown, Makayla Collins, Matt Conley, Eden DaVania, James Delawder, Michaela Forbush, Lydia Hannan, Baylie Harrah, Morriah Howard, Kasey Kimbler, Leah Little, Paola Litton, Faith Mahlmeister, Trent Milleson, Ryan Payne, Ethan Preston, Taylor Reynolds, Ryan Vasvary, Alison Wilds, Will York
KITTS HILL: Jacob Bentley, Lexie Payne, Cassie Peters, Olivia Tackett, Desiree Willliams
LUCASVILLE: Ethan George, Deanna Roberts
MINFORD: Kaden Kelley
OAK HILL: Luke Hammond
PEDRO: Abby Blankenship, Nick Blankenship, Emily Oldaker, Tyler Schweickart
PIKETON: Kaitlyn Foster
PORTSMOUTH: Lori Bailey, Keith Charles, Laura Crawford, Joey Cyrus, Robert Elkins, Ethan Ellinger, Courtney Hylton, Kathyrn Newman, Aireyana Thurman, Andrew Wright
PROCTORVILLE: Wade Brown, Lauren Dunsmore, Rylee Galloway, Caden Howard, Olivia Jones, Adam Kincaid, Mackenzie Kincaid, Christopher Smith, Jared Stapleton, Ryan Swann, Elise Vickers, Taylor Webb
SCOTTOWN: Rachael Hayes
SOUTH POINT: Leah Bailey, Halley Booth, Brooklyne Bowen, Brittany Byers, Tara Crank, Kata Crizer, Evelynne Gibson, Pamela Kerfoot, Alli-Madison Lively, Garrett Looney, Lindsey Nicely, Tina Starkey, Angela Young
SOUTH WEBSTER: Shelby Cornell
WILLOW WOOD: Lena Adkins, Charles Baldwin, Cassandra Damron

ASHLAND: Connor Barber, Caitlyn Cline, Elijah Cordle, Kailee Fraley, Katlyn Fry, Madison Fry, Kaylee Hopper, Shellby Lane, Lexi Marcum, Morgan Miller, Kaylie Muzic, Rachel Nance, Melanie Slusher, Debbi Smith
CATLETTSBURG: Phylicia Adams, Megan Castle, Shelby Chaney
FLATWOODS: Sarah Bradley, Whitney Suiter, Brandy Vanderpool
GRAYSON: Josh Napier
GREENUP: Jordan Skeens, Grant Stephens
LOUISA: Brooke Fletcher, Kenzie Goble
OLIVE HILL: Josh Carroll
RUSH: Caleb Martin, Tayler Prichard
RUSSELL: Emma Sanders, Rachel Saunders

Email newsletter signup

HUNTINGTON: Dara Boldman, April Gardner, Sierra Lee, Eli Lucas, Carissa Walker-McQuaid