Disaster recovery, grant for child sex abuse investigations headline Commissioners meeting

Published 3:10 pm Tuesday, June 18, 2024

By Terry L. Hapney, Jr.
The Ironton Tribune

U.S. Small Business Administration Public Affairs Specialist James Accurso addressed the June 12 meeting of the Lawrence County Commissioners regarding the work of the SBA Office of Disaster Recovery and Resilience related to the April 2 tornadoes that hit northeast Kentucky and southern Ohio.
Accurso said he is in Ironton because Lawrence County is contiguous to “declared counties across the river in Kentucky.” He said Lawrence County business owners are eligible for economic injury disaster loans; Accurso provided a fact sheet to the Commissioners.
The loans carry a $2 million limit and are available to business leaders whose firms experienced setbacks related to the tornadoes—including layoffs and working capital needs. The deadline to apply is Feb. 24, 2025. Accurso said there is no fee to apply and no obligation to accept the funding, with a 60-day window to decide if one wishes to accept a loan.
Accurso encouraged business owners to apply online or by stopping by the disaster loan outreach center in Boyd County at the emergency operations center. The interest rate on such a loan is 4 percent or less, according to Accurso.
In addition, Lawrence County Prosecuting Attorney Brigham Anderson announced that the county secured $161,000 in grant funding to hire a full-time investigator for two years to investigate child sex abuse cases.
Action items for the Lawrence County Commissioners include:
• Approving floodplain permits submitted by the Soil and Water Conservation District for Columbia Gas Transmission, LLC, for pipeline operation and maintenance activities projects on County Road 1A; James Boggs for filling, grading and stream maintenance projects at 11366 State Route 217; and Fayette Township for grading, culvert, paving and ditch maintenance projects located on Township Road. R.O.W.
• Receiving and filing the EMS monthly report for May 2024, submitted by Lori Morris, EMS director of finance.
• Approving and signing the OVRDC 2025 local participating funds resolution.
• Approving and signing a resolution authorizing submission of the Lawrence County fiscal year 24 community development critical block grant infrastructure program for Ironton pump station #7—for a recommission.
• Approving and signing the storm water MOU among Lawrence Soil and Water District; Lawrence County Commissioners; Lawrence County Health Department; Task Force; and the Fayette, Perry, Rome and Union Township trustees.
• Approving the allocation of $45,000 for a reimbursement grant, requested by Prosecuting Attorney Brigham Anderson for use in hiring the full-time child sex abuse investigator.
Meetings of the Lawrence County Commissioners are at 11 a.m. on Tuesdays on the third floor of the Lawrence County Courthouse.

Email newsletter signup