Ironton Tribune is finalist for 14 Associated Press awards

Published 2:58 pm Friday, July 5, 2024

Staff report

Finalists in the 2023 Associated Press Media Editors newspaper contest have been announced and The Ironton Tribune has been honored with 14 total finalists awards.
The Tribune competes in Division 1 of the 5 different divisions.
Heath Harrison has been named a finalist in five categories, and Kandi Thompson is listed in four categories including twice in the Best Illustration or Informational Graphic category.
Sports editor Jim Walker is among the finalists in three categories. Contributor Jim Crawford is a finalist for best columnist and contributor Kayla Niece is a finalist for Best Feature Photo.
The category and finalists are:
• Best Photography: Heath Harrison and
The Ironton Tribune.
• Best Illustration or Informational Graphic:
Heath Harrison, Kandi Thompson (two
• Best Editorial Writer: Heath Harrison
• Best Feature Writer: Heath Harrison
• Best Full Page Design: The Ironton Tribune
(Kandi Thompson)
• Best Graphic Artist: The Ironton Tribune
(Kandi Thompson)
• Best Columnist: Heath Harrison,
Jim Crawford
• Best Feature Photo: Kayla Niece
• Best Digital Presence: The Ironton Tribune
• Best Sports Feature Writer: Jim Walker
• Best Daily Sports Section:
The Ironton Tribune (Jim Walker)
• Best Headline Writer: Jim Walker.
Winners will be announced at the annual APME banquet July 21 at the Villa Milano Banquet & Conference Center in Columbus.

Email newsletter signup