• 52°

Ironton baseball field dedication

The Ironton Fighting Tigers 1972 Class AA state championship baseball team celebrates after winning the title. (Tribune File Photo)

Ironton High School will name its new baseball field in honor of the program’s most successful coach Mike Burcham prior to Thursday’s game. Burcham (28) is shown with his 1972 state championship team celebrating following a 3-2 win over Solon in the state title game. Team members were Jeff Brickey, Keith Parker, Jim Payne, Greg Spence, Dave Kriebel, Steve Massey, John Zornes, Tino Boll, Jim O’Leary, Jerry Murnahan, Rick Boykin, Steve Johann, Rick Massey, Gary Carrico, Fred Easterling, Don Vencill, Bob Bayert, Greg Rogers, Greg Spence, Scott Wylie, Jeff Collins, Mike Rowe and Mark Fairchild. Assistant coaches were Lou Parker and Tom Castle and statisticians Beryl Jenkins and Darryl Jones.