• 54°

Fletcher, Webb, Staten named scholar/athletes

In conjunction with the Ohio High School Athletic Association, the Southeast District Athletic Board hosted its annual Scholar-Athlete Banquet on Thursday at Ponderosa in Jackson. Pictured are the OHSAA/Ohio Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association Scholar-Athlete recipients that were present. Pictured are, seated from left, Abby Howard (Alexander), Camryn Chandler (Piketon), Matthew Mangus (Leesburg Fairfield), Bailey Ward (Oak Hill), Tojzae Reams (Belpre), Shelby Ward (Logan Elm) and Katie Osburn (Belpre); standing from left, Martin Benencia Courreges (Athens), Bailey Sprague (Belpre), Ohio High School Athletic Association Assistant Commissioner Jerry Snodgrass, Cecil Fletcher (Chesapeake), Brooke Webb (Chesapeake) and Jessica Cook (Meigs Eastern). Absent when the photo was taken were: Peter Buckley (Athens), Sidney Fick (Nelsonville-York), Luke Hanson (Sheridan), Avery Harper (North Adams), Clayton Howell (Waverly), Nicholas Kudlapur (Logan), Garrett Maiden (Nelsonville-York), Keifer Mosmeier (Logan Elm), Michael Norris (Alexander), Ellie Ruby (Wheelersburg), Seth Russell (New Lexington), Matthew Seas (Peebles), Alexandria Smith (Portsmouth Notre Dame) and Christopher Staten (Fairland). (Photo Courtesy of Paul Boggs/Jackson Times-Journal)

For The Tribune

The Ohio High School Athletic Association annually provides scholarships for outstanding student athletes from its member schools.
At the state level, the OHSAA provides 48 scholarships across the six OHSAA athletic districts. Thirty-six students receive $1,000 awards – including one student from each of the six OHSAA athletic districts that will receive an Ethnic Minority Scholarship – the remaining scholarships are awarded proportionately according to the number of schools in each athletic district.
In addition to the four scholarships awarded by the Ohio High School Athletic Association, the Southeast District Athletic Board (SEDAB) is proud to award an additional 21 scholarships to the deserving scholar-athletes in Southeast Ohio.
In conjunction with the OHSAA, the SEDAB recently announced the 2018 Scholar-Athlete Scholarship awards at their annual Scholar-Athlete Banquet on June 21 in Jackson.
Three local student/athletes were honored with SEDAB scholarships.
Chesapeake High School’s Cecil Fletcher and Brooke Webb were named scholarship winners with each getting $500.
Fletcher plans to attend Ohio Wesleyan University study Computer Science. He has signed a letter-of-intent to run track.
Webb also received a $500 scholarship. She will attend Shawnee State University and major in exercise science. Webb has signed a letter-of-intent to play softball.
Fairland High School’s Ty Staten received a $500 scholarship that he will use toward his education at Ohio Northern University. Staten — who signed a letter-of-intent to play basketball — plans to study Pharmacy.
Each member high school may submit one senior male and one senior female candidate for scholarship consideration. Each member high school may also submit one senior female minority and one senior male minority candidate.
The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who have excelled in the classroom as well as high school sports.
To be nominated by their high school students must meet the following criteria: must be a graduating senior; have a grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale; must have taken either the ACT or SAT; must have received a minimum of three varsity letters in one OHSAA sanctioned sport or four varsity letters in a combination of any two or more OHSAA sanctioned sports.